surf safari


Advertisement
Published: December 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!

After two nights couch surfing in the capital I've made it to the Pacific and can now finally replace 'Do you know the way to San Jose?' with some great tunes by the beach boys. Surf Safari being one of them. I had my first surifng lesson today. I stood up multiple times and only face planted once. Yippee! And there's something about coconut trees and brings a smile to your face.

Costa Rica is quite a change from Nicaragua. Everything is clean and the buses have these strange things called Schedules and actually stop for people to get on (as oppose to having to sprint, jump and cling for dear life). Couch surfing was fun as always and I had my first geocaching experience in the city.

I did enjoy Nicaragua though. I spent 3 weeks volunteering on a permaculture farm on Isla de Ometepe. I've never seen so many creepy crawlies in my life. Bats living in the long drop and scorpions falling from the ceiling. Not to mention the tarantula that scuttled across the kitchen floor!! The food was amazing and I used my very best spanish to tell the cook that I loved her. Work consisted of carpentry, lots of planing wood and the usual gardening stuff but with machetes. Machetes are so versatile. We used them as kitchen implements.

Other than that... the hitchike here was fun, three of us on the back of a ute going through the cloud forest at night was very surreal... I'm missing the chocolate making we did on the farm... and am looking forward to sloth spotting in a national park tomorrow... after surfing that is.

Hooroo

Love Jen xx





Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0855s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb