La Selva Day 2


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » San José
September 17th 2012
Published: September 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Buenos dias!

I just got back from a run along the 5km bike path through La Selva. Probably the coolest run I have ever been on. Where else can you see a pair of collared peccaries? If you saw me when I got back, you may have guessed that I just got out of the Rio Puerto Viejo. I was that soaked with sweat. However, that would be quite unlikely as cocodrilos frequent the waters. That’s right people. Crocodiles. I have yet to see one but apparently they like to come out when the sun is strong to soak it up.

Speaking of local fauna, we went on an orientation hike through the jungle today and saw quite a few critters. Giant spiders are the norm here. Orb weavers are quite common and I frequently have duck wherever I walk. Also strawberry poison dart frogs are abundant. They are very tiny and very good hoppers. And MONKEYS. We saw monkeys. I saw monkeys. First, a white face capuchin monkey came to say hello. Then howler monkeys were casually hopping between trees above us. I have yet to see a spider monkey, but when I do, I will pay attention to their habits, so I can efficiently COME AT Y’ALL LIKE A SPIDER MONKEY (inside joke haha).

Toucans are also very common. Apparently we are supposed to get sick of them soon because they are quite loud. Also, peccaries are like squirrels here. They aren’t very pretty but probably just as cute as a squirrel. Least favorite animal so far is definitely a bullet ant. It is called that for a reason. Apparently it packs a bite painfully equivalent to being shot. Yikes. I would rather come across a jaguar or puma here (which apparently is extremely rare, only footprints) than get into it with a bullet ant. We were debating whether being shot or giving birth is more painful…no conclusion was made.

It’s supposed to rain here a lot but it’s really only bucketed once – very early this morning when we were all tucked in (but not really because I’m sure everyone slept in the nude or close to that because it was so hot). Although the sky messed with us a couple times today. Right before you think it’s about to rain it sounds like a stampede is coming for you. It’s like it starts on one side of the station and ends on the other.

I have yet to take pictures but standby – tomorrow is a free day so I will definitely be filling up my memory card fast. To get an idea of what I have seen/will be seeing around here, feel free to check out this web page: http://www.anywherecostarica.com/attractions/reserve/la-selva.

Hasta luego

Kelsey

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb