La Selva Day 1


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Heredia
September 16th 2012
Published: September 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hola from La Selva!

Sorry for not posting lately, we had no internet in the mountains. It was actually really nice to not worry about email or anything for a few days. So now I’m uploading a few days’ worth of info and pictures!

This morning we drove from Ceurici at 3000m elevation to La Selva at 60m elevation. Pretty big change. Today is El Dia de Independencia for Costa Rica, and I was able to see a parade / celebration of people on the way.

I thought Beuafort, SC was humid. That is nothing compared to this. It’s 7pm here and I am sitting on my bunk right now in shorts and a t-shirt sweating soooo much. We have a fan in our room which is nice but everybody is constantly sticky.

But that is all I have to complain about. This place is awesome. A few of us exercised outside our dorms today and two huge and beautiful birds walked by. This evening I had to get my computer from the lab. There is a bridge (about 100m) across a deep, muddy river I crossed to go to the lab. It was dark by then but I had my headlamp. From about 10m away I could see two very bright lights. As I got closer I realized it was a kinkajou! These animals are super cute – kind of like a combo between a monkey and a lemur. This one was really curious and got pretty close to us, about 2m away. Then, on my way back there was a monkey sitting on the bridge cable! There are a lot larger mammals here than anywhere we have been yet. I will have many pictures to share.

Mas luego

Kelsey

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb