Im here!


Advertisement
Published: May 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so I arrived in San Jose yesterday and it is VERY hot and there is no air conditioning! The family I am staying with is very nice, Amalia and Gerardo are my "parents" and they have 2 daughters and 1 son, I think? One of the daughters Marla and her daughter who is 2 lives wiht us also. They are also hosting a German exchange student Johanna. She is very funny and speaks good English. She is obsessed with The O.C. and cannot wait until it comes on tonight. I feel like my Spanish has gotten better in the past day, so who knows what a month will do for my speaking skills. I woke up at 6 am to get ready for class.. eh! We had our placement exams today and soon we will be going to the mall and around San Jose. San Jose is not like Atlanta or other U.S. cities. There are no big buildings but all of the buildings have some kind of bright color and it makes the city look unique. The Ticos here are very friendly and open to Americans. Im suprised how many people can speak English. Ive gotten to the point where when a stranger speaks English to me, I still respond in Spanish because I dont even realize they are speaking English. Its weird, but I want to make sure that I speak as little English as possible. Our group have been speaking a lot of Spanglish together. This weekend we are heading to Volcan Arenal, and also while we are there we will be doing a canopy tour! Until then we will be taking classes from 8 to 1 pm everyday, Ick! Ill write later when something interesting happens!

Advertisement



20th May 2006

HeY AlLiSoN! I hope you are having a fantastic time! I can not wait to see what you bring back with you like pictures and expecially a fluent spanish accent and vocabulary! I'm sure your pictures are going to be amazing! Stay out of trouble and start blogging.....i want to hear everything you do each day thats interesting!! Pura vida baby**.....(i think i know what that means) <3 brooke

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb