Alajuela & animals


Advertisement
Published: December 13th 2004
Edit Blog Post

I love this place and I´m never coming back!!
Today was awesome. I took an 11 hour highlights tour and it was incredible. Especially the boat ride down Rio Sarapaqui. Our boat driver, Ronny, was incredible. He truly does have eagle eyes. He´d spot something, pull in closer and it would still take us a minute to find what he´s spotted while moving down the middle of the river!
We saw iguanas, baskilisks, howler monkeys, a caymen, a crocodile, little blue herons, kingfishers and I´m sure I´m forgetting something. At a lodge in the rainforest, we saw poison dart frogs, spiders and birds. We heard the howler monkeys, but after navigating a river via a very bouncy suspension bridge, we found the other side to be locked and couldn´t go any further into the rainforest. We had breakfast at a coffee plantation and saw cloudforests, and pineapple fields and all sorts of varied terrain. Our real first stop was at the Poas Volcano which has a lagoon in it´s crater. The water is bright blue and it is the widest crater of any active volcano in the world (1 mile across). One of the couples on the tour live in Pacific Beach. A small world indeed. The tour was a major teaser, I have to come back again and just roam around. This truly is an awesome country. My hotel is $30 a night and the beer (Imperial) is $1 a bottle. The beer is in a self serve cooler and you just tell the manager how many you had when you check out. Is that cool or what?!? Oh, and the Internet cafe is $1.25 an hour. Unfortunately, I (1) forgot my memory card and cable to upload photos and (2) these computers don´t have a USB port anyway. So, no pictures yet. Sorry! I did get some awesome shots. Yes! I did forget something. Hummingbirds that you could stand just inches from as they feed from the feeders. Several species were well represented. Oh yes, and very cool waterfall that had a trail that went behind the waterfall. Can you tell that I´m thinking as I type?
Tomorrow I fly to Tamarindo where I will meet up with the Earthwatch crew and the leatherback turtles.
Okay, time to find some dinner. Adios amigos!

Advertisement



16th December 2004

Sweet!
Sounds like you're having a great time! I'm so jealous! Keep the posts coming. - jorge

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb