Souvenir Shopping


Advertisement
Published: January 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

MercadoMercadoMercado

Arts and Crafts Market
We returned to the arts and crafts market yesterday while our friends were getting their drivers licenses. Well, actually while they were waiting in line after line to get their licenses. It was Ruth’s first visit to the market. She’s planning to return with hubby and his wallet before they leave the country in a few weeks.

Mola prices were negotiable, $10 for 81/2 x 11 rectangles, saw more of these than the squares. More choices were available at the artesans market than at the souvenir shop in Atenas. I'm convinced the price is better here but as I wasn't purchasing so I didn't see the point in seeing how low I could get them to go. The market reminds me of border towns in Mexico. The streets where everyone is trying to call you into their booths to purchase from them. Every booth has practically the same items for sale as the previous but some how you manage to see something different at each.

The price for many things is less here than I’ve seen elsewhere. I had a vendor ask “ME” if I wanted to barter as I paid for something. Hey, I was happy with the
Where to beginWhere to beginWhere to begin

Callista and Bill taking in the artesans market.
price he quoted me, didn’t even think of asking for a lower price. I accepted his offer and paid $2 less for my purchases. I don’t think these shop owners mind negotiating a price. It’s an excellent place to buy all your souvenirs for people back home.

Click here for pics of the market Ticoartesanias

Click here for our website anewlifeincostarica

Pura Vida!
Jen, Bill, Callista and Bear



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Ruth browsingRuth browsing
Ruth browsing

Not looking for anything in particular, just looking.
Beautiful dressesBeautiful dresses
Beautiful dresses

100% all natural cotton!!!!
Dazed and confusedDazed and confused
Dazed and confused

Bill looking dazed after looking at so many things.


Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.1037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb