Graduation!


Advertisement
Published: July 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I got through my two weeks at school and "graduated today!" Those were the schools words not mine. I was told by my teacher that each student who finishes gets a certificate and collects it in front of all the other students and gets a round of applause. I told him that if this was really going to happen then at 3pm when class was over I'd be on the bus home! So thankfully, very kindly, he gave me my certificate in the class with an audience of two..this I could handle. If I felt like I'd studied for months or years and had taken some kind of exam and was able to say more than "hola mi llamo Karen ..." then maybe I would of taken the applause. But hey I do have a certificate which I told my teacher I will frame and hang in my house but I'm not sure that sarcasm works in a different language?
Joking aside I do feel like I know more than two weeks ago and hopefully I will at least be able to converse a little better with my next host family in Guatemala...here's hoping!

Advertisement



11th July 2008

CONGRATULATIONS!
11th July 2008

Travels
Hola Karen. I have a question for you. How did you plan your trip and how did you select and contacted your host families and schools to attend. I would like to travel to Central America someday but I have no idea. Please write about it. Thank you and best wishes for you. Be safe.
13th July 2008

Reply to your question
Hi, I choose the countries I wanted to visit and then did some research with various companies in the uk. I am travelling through a company called "real gap" just google em and you should be able to get to their site and I've found them to be really helpfull. They placed me with my host family which is such a lovely way to really see how people live and far more personal and my spanish although still limited has improved as I wanted to talk to my costa rican mama as much as possible. Anything else I can help you with feel free to ask,karen.
13th July 2008

Imagination!
Dera Karen - or should I say 'Hola!' (and that's my limit!) Anyway - well done. It all sounds as if it's going to plan and flying over the trees in part of the Rainforest must have been fantastic. your description of seeing/not seeing the poas Volcano reminded me of when I waited and waited ........ to see the sun rise over Macchu Picchu - an amazing experience apparently, but unfortunately not one that I can claim! Never mind! you were there and so was it and the sun will continue to rise and shine on you and your next adventure. Take care and God bless. With love from Maureen xx

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0794s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb