Time to go already...


Advertisement
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I cant believe I'm nearly moving on already! It feels like I've been here for weeks, in a good way, but then again it's flown by.
I spent yesterday flying through the canopies in the forest. It was an real adrenaline rush and I loved every minute and the scenery made it that much more exhilarating. Unfortunately I don't have any pictures, just imagine me in a rather unattractive helmet, wearing a harness strapped to a zip wire flying past tree tops in the most stunning forest although how a plastic helmet was going to save me if I fell 300ft but still...It was a great day and I'd highly recommend it if you have a fear of heights this'll cure it!
Today I went to see Poas volcano. We drove through more fabulous scenery and went through coffee plantation areas and drove up and up the side of the mountain. With lots of expectation we reach the peak of the crater and saw.....absolutely nothing. Well that's not entirely true, we could see cloud and more cloud and some plants, about two feet in front of us which were very lovely, as is the volcano so I'm told but
Oxcart Oxcart Oxcart

Come on you can fit this in your rucksac it's only this big!
I'll have to settle for my imagination on that one, oh well not to worry. We had a nice day anyway, trotting round the countryside and went to Grecia and saw a beautiful metal church. Then we went to Sarchi where they make the famous painted Costa Rican oxcarts. We were told we wouldn't want to leave Costa Rica without one but I managed to resist, not sure it would have fitted into the old rucksack?
Tomorrow I leave my Costa Rican mama and fly to Guatemala and will be living with a new family. This should be quite a bit noisier as it's a large family but I'll tell you all about them when I'm there. It'll be quite different from the quiet evenings here I expect. My mama and I have just spent the evening making napkin waterlilies, well when you can't have much of a conversation you need to improvise! So hasta luego chicas, Karen.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

PoasPoas
Poas

Has anyone seen a volcano around here?
SarchiSarchi
Sarchi

The worlds biggest oxcart I don't want to meet the ox!


13th July 2008

Nanas'pic.
Great blogs and pics. Loved the "one for Nana" I'm sure she will be smiling.

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0714s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb