Arenal volcano


Advertisement
Published: July 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola!
well school finished on Thursday and I now know a few more words than on Monday?! Next week we will have a different teacher and hopefully this one will stay awake!
I went on a trip on Friday out of the city which was great to see a little of Costa Rica. The scenery was breathtaking and what made it all the better was that for once the sun was shining!
This was especially good as it meant we got to see our destination the Arenal volcano. We stopped at a place for lunch and had the option of paying extra for a spa treatment and then meeting the rest of the group later. I didn't hesitate as I was totally up for a spot of pampering and had the most amazing hot stone massage.
After this I was then picked up by a driver and taken to the hot springs further down the road. This turned out to be the highlight of the trip and was a total paradise spot. The springs were an average of 40º and took a meandering twist and turn through the most stunning gardens containing the most beautiful flowers. I did a bit of exploring in the undergrowth and saw a few small lizards and spotted a humming bird much to my delight. We had about five hours in this gorgeous place before having a lovely dinner and then being taken to our hotel.
Myself and two other girls had decided to stay out here the night and stayed in a lovely hotel with a pool and a jacuzzi and set in this wonderful landscape. We spent the next morning just chilling and it was so nice and these past couple of days have made me feel like I'm on holiday. I did a bit more bird spotting and saw some fantastic birds, Dad and Adrian would love it! It's just a shame I don't know what any of them are but I am enjoying just looking.
Anyway unfortunately we had to return to the city which was a long painful journey as I was at the back of a small people carrier and felt every bump in the road and was really wishing I'd not eaten lunch just before we set off. We got back to the city in a torrential down pour and got drenched walking home off the bus. I got home hoping for a warm shower but alas no water. When it rains here I think the old pipes can't cope and apparently some have burst in the area or something? Anyway the water came back on later so all's well. I'm just going to have a quiet day today and maybe revise some Spanish read a bit and generally relax before school again tomorrow, hasta luego mi amigos, k.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

GranadillaGranadilla
Granadilla

Mi casa
GranadillaGranadilla
Granadilla

My morning friend walking me to the bus stop


7th July 2008

Wow, it all looks fantastic. What lovely pic's. You'll be in competition with Miss Modes at this rate! Can't wait for the next instalment. Tiff.xx
9th July 2008

jealous!!!! I am
I'm so glad you are enjoying it, I knew you would!! Hola.....enjoy the sunshine, it's been a monsoon of a day here. :0)x
14th July 2008

part 1 , gone, part 2 here we go
well costa rica looked a green and colourfull place. but also looked a little murky and a bit dangerous. question is would you go back ? lovely photos, keep them coming. love ya , yo bro. xxx

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb