still on the bus...


Advertisement
Published: February 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so, the bus got to the San Pedro Mall, quite close to my school. As I said, I was just listening to my music and shortly after the bus driver starts to shout something down the bus. I sat in the back of the bus by the way. So, I was like, what? Are you talking to me?? And yes, he was, so I had to walk to the front of the bus with everyone staring at me!! Ahh! Anyway. He tried to explain something, unfortunately I didnt quite understand what he said, so he grabbed my arm (why do they keep doing that? Its not like I wil understand their gibberish when they hold it!!) and frantically pointed straight ahead. So basically" get off teh bus, walk to the other side of the road and get a bus there!"
Ok, so I did walk to the other bus stop and got on a bus to Sabanilla. Nothing on the bus journey looked familiar so again, I ended up at the final stop! Luckily I had the address of my host family with me, so I shows the bus driver and he pointed me in the right direction! Well, I started walking and walking and got lost again... Well, to cut it a bit short, I asked to more people until I finally got home!!! OMG!!! Ok, so public transport is just not made for me!!! seriously!
To get over all that, my host sister Sindy invited me to go out with her and her friends in the evening. So we did. It was quite cool, although they listen to Electro something here, not my style... Some of her friends started to speak Spanish to me, I said I could only speak german and they still went on in Spanish.. Oh well.. I guess thats how I am supposed to learn... Had my first Imperial (local beer) in Bahamas, the pub and more in California, a club. We ended up discussing the current political situation in Costa Rica, especially the "CAFTA" or "TLC" which is a free-trading agreement between CR and the US. It was signed off last September, but the locals are still protesting against this agreement, as it means things like ie Health care will be privatised which means that they will have to pay for it. It was free before. Well, there is obviously lots more to it, but not the place to explain... Anyway, I went to a protest on Monday after school. (what a rebell I am... ) It was quite interesting to see how it all works here! poeple went through barriers and the police couldnt do anything, as they had attacked someone the week before. So everyone had a camera, in case they'd do something again..

Ok, break is over.. again.. Gosh busy life!
Hope you are all ok!
Kxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb