Vamos a la Playa


Advertisement
Published: February 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, look at me, 3 blogs in one day...

So, I started school on Monday. Its the Costa Rican Language Academy (CRLA). Quite a cool, organised school, its all seems very professional. I was taken to the school on my first day by my host mum, reminded me very much of my first day at school, without the goodie bag we got back then though...
Anyway, there were about 12 new students, mostly Germans for some bizarre reason... Had to do a Spanish test and was put in the Beginners class with two other students, Martina from Germany and Katie from Kent, UK. The classes are quite intense as we have got to do 5 hours a day and Sergio, our teacher refuses to speak English! He is quite funny though... Luckily he speaks slowly, so he is easily understood. For some reason, I can actually understand him well! Although there is still lots of Que significa de and como se dice ... en espanol... and those sort of things. We also do lots of games like pictionary and memory do use the words we learned and stuff. Vicki, Chris, Carl: the book that we use is Todo Bien?, maybe Beleen knows it.. and v is pronounced b over here and ll is y.
So my Spanish is progressing and I am really enjoying school, for a change! Its not been too hot this week, so studying hasnt been a problem. Even taking the bus to school is easy, takes 30 minutes!

What else. I am hanging out with some girls that also started on Monday, but everybody here is just like, hey, where are you from, lets do something tonight!! So its pretty cool!

As we have got Fridays off, we are going to the beach tomorrow, Manuel Antonio, near Quepos. Its near a National Park. So, well see if I come back burnt and with tons of mosquito bites!

I also got the info pack for my volunteering project this week. I have plenty to choose from and can even do 2 projects of 2 weeks, which I will probably do! Options are Gandoca Manzanillo(southern carribean, Puerto Viejo), La Tortuga Feliz (also carribean, Rio Pacuare, but no electricty, inernet or town near, got to take a boat to get there) and potentially Hacienda Baru, a wildlife refuge, no turtlesbut southern pacific and sounds really interesting (butterflies and orchid gardens)!

Ok, got to go and pack for the beach, bus is leaving at 6am tomorrow morning. Yes, thats 6 AM very early in the morning!

I hope I answered all the questions, if not just fire them over again!

Anyway, have a fab weekend everybody!!! Bueno fin de la semana!! (I think)

Kat

Advertisement



16th February 2008

no turtles??:-(
Hy Katitroet, seems that you´re doing very well over there... meet a lot of interesting people and learn some important facts about the country. That´s it, that´s why we like travelling so much, isn´t it ;-)? Have you already worn your turtle-t-shirt, by the way? Tobias ´ve just told me, that i´m not allowed (from his point of view!) to wear MY "Blubber fish"-shirt during my visit in the US because "blubber" means something like "dick, fett bzw. Walfisch" in american english.....Well.....?! All the best from muenstertroet

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb