LOL i´m in Costa Rica!!


Advertisement
Published: February 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Helloooo!!

So finally the adventure has begun. Yesterday departed Toronto, leaving the loved ones was harder than I thought. You bloody little buggers you. As the plane descended into San Jose and I saw the sporadic city structure, I began to think... what the hell am i doing? after customs bla bla i actually feared exiting the airport, where was my interbus?? nobody knew. just had to face a crowd of eager taxi drivers, all your best friend. one offered me his cell phone to call the company which i did. no answer. than when i mentioned interbus he said oh interbus this way. leading me down the drive way.... but luckily in few moments i saw a kid with a sign with my name and interbus. ok paranoia for no reason perhaps.. senor hill took me to my hostel, bekuo, it was night and the highway was cool as it went up on down on the hills. we´re surrounded by mountains. elevation over 1000 m, i think 1300??

as we drove towards the hostel familiar smells of latin america entered the car. ahhh... diesel... tropical weather... and perhaps something else i can´t describe... i began to feel comfortable at last.

it´s really cool in the evenings maybe not quite 20C. i froze my ass off last night. might have to bust out my minus 3C sleeping bag. the day was warmer but i wore pants and a sweater. made a friend, nice canadian from US. today we ventured downtown, a 20 min walk. went through markets etc. nothing too new. regular central america i suppose.... hehehe. then we ventured off deep into the neigbourhoods, walking aimlessly towards the mountins into more residential areas for a couple hours. seeing people chilling on their porches, dogs lying on the street. i had a delicious plato del dia con lots of stuff in spanish for 5 bucks. after jumping down a strange wall and up into a more sketchy neighbourhood and approaching a free way we decided to catch a bus. i was feeling a little uncomfortable but realized it really wasn´t a bad neighbourhood. we didn´t ask where the bus was going but it appeared to be going in the direction we wanted it to be, and alas it did take us back to downtown. really nice centre actually. very cheap clothes but expensive cheese!! beer however is 1$ and this makes me happy. so we walked back to the hostel. afterwards i chilled in a hammock, while all the other people just hung around reading and smoking. most people smoke here. were having a bbq tonight. should be tasty.

tommorow i´m taking an early bus to visit the volcano Irazu just for 2 hours cause that´s how the stupid buses work. next day i´m getting the hell out of dodge. i think to the carribean to check out the rasta town of.... puerta viaje.. or something... but i´m really more interested in heading south to quepa, its suppose to be a little rainforest surrounded by great beaches. sunstoke here i come!! then a bus up, a ferry accoss, and to some of the loveliest beaches ever. might get stuck... on the way i´d like to check the active volcano arenal, and possibly do some canopy tours... have to see if i got the time.

i already feel a little sun burnt in the face... perhaps i should consider sunscreen... lol

see ya

Advertisement



18th February 2009

lol
i hope you get to write a lot, it is too much fun reading it. sounds like a great start to your trip... a buck a beer and a hammock! take care and put some sunscreen on :-) love, margaret
18th February 2009

Wow vivian!
Hey Viv, I am so excited for you, and utterly jealous that you are taking in all of this new and exciting adventure time (as I work my 9-5) Keep the blogs coming, I can't wait to hear more. P.S I am seriously considering meeting up with you in Thailand if at all possible. I am daydreaming about my own adventure:)
19th February 2009

Lol that is exactly as I remember it!! And the beer isn't bad there either isn't it? I checked that volcanoe and its beautiful. ANd if you have the time...money, check out the canopy tour...very fun!
19th February 2009

Just as I remember it!
Lol your description is exactly as I remember it!! Coming out of the airport kind of freaked me out too, but once your on your way it gets much better ;). And the beer...one of my favourite memories! Check out the canopy tour if you can, its quite an experience. Just watch out for the spider monkeys, they'll shit on you!!!
20th February 2009

HEYA!!
Hey, Viv....subscribing to your blog so I can pretend I'm on a trip around the world too!!! All the best, be safe have fun! (Alex said Momma today!)

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb