Excellent trekking


Advertisement
Published: October 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

scenescenescene

Rain forest in Monteverde - aka cloud forest A must do
This morning I woke up at 6am for a brisk hike into the cloud forest. The cloud forest is a protected area and it has a pretty good trail with or without a guide. I would recommend the guide because he can show you things you would not be able to find. The cost was $30 and Johnny our guide was very good. He was able to mimic all the bird and animal sounds so they would respond back.

There´s a few trails here you can do so I would do the one in Santa Elena with a guide and the other ones without. You just need to pay for the entrance fee which goes back to the trail - $15.

The hike took 3.5 hours and afterwards I stopped by at a local taco stall $3 for 2 pollo tacos. Afterwards I chilled at a cafe-bookstore which had some of the best beans in town for $1.

I highly recommend everyone to come to Santa Elena in the highlands because there is lots to do here.

I booked myself for a coffee plantation tour and sugar cane so I will be blogging about that later on.
out guideout guideout guide

our guide-bioligist for the trek


........7pm

I got back to the hostel at 7pm from the sugar planation and coffee tour. The tour is worth doing and it´s about 3 hours. You learn everything about how the coffee is made and it´s actually a pretty complicated processed but I imagine most of the procedure are automated now unlike the manual labor of the tour.

The sugar cane tour was interesting too. So much sugar cane was used to create so little juice and of course for effects they used 2 big ass ox´s to pull this grinder and grind down the sugar cane. The end result I made some sugar candy and at the end of the tour had some geniune costa rican coffe which was very good. The sugar candy was abit too much and I feel abit hyper now from all that sugar.

Tomorrow will be my last day here as I booked a 4x4 taxi to take me to the Vocano Arenal which is 8 hours bus bus 2 hours by 4x4 taxi. The taxi is basically a 4 runner and it blast through all the rough roads. Before I leave I have signed up for a Canopy
treetreetree

Strangling vines that suffocates a tree
zip trek which has 5 kms of cable and finnishes off with a Tarazan swing. The Zip trek goes over the rain forest so this should be fun.

Time for some dinner at the Tree house restuarant. The restaurant looks like a tree house and it´s actually on a tree.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb