Upcoming Trip


Advertisement
Published: June 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This is Kate.

So, as many of you probably know, Eric and I are coming back to NC June 22 - July 4. We are coming back due to my grandma's failing health. She is very special to me and we have been close ever since I was small. We used to spend many holidays at her house in Durham and she even took Meg and I on road trips and watched us when our parents were away. I have always been able to talk to her about anything, and I used to love asking her about her younger live in Washington DC. I never met my grandpa, so I asked about him a lot too. She seemed to enjoy telling me stories and my mom would always ask, "Did you write it down?!". I never did, and now I wish I had. Once I moved to Raleigh and was working in Durham, I tried to visit her at least once a week, if not more. We often went out to lunch or dinner. Sometimes I would bring food over for us and it was always fun to eat in the dining room with her friends. She always told me what a good granddaughter I was, and sometimes accidentally called me Martha (my mom's name).

Now she is slipping away and I am sad, but content as she is. She has always been very vibrant and quick witted, but she can no longer see anything and has a hard time hearing even with her hearing aids. It is harder for her to enjoy family gatherings, holidays, her grandchildren and great-grandchildren, etc. She has told me for several years she is ready to go. She is at peace with her life and is ready to be with her husband once again. I am happy for her in that way.

This week we are preparing for the trip. There are some good things we can accomplish by coming home. My friend Carolyn is coming down for a visit July 14, and I was going to have her bring some stuff, but now she doesn't have to! We can pick up the things we need while we're there. I can also get anything straightened out with grad school for the 2nd summer session and fall semester. Getting books is the biggest thing because it's hard to have them shipped. Of course, seeing our families and friends is also a very important and happy thing. My nephew Ethan will be turning 4 July 5, so we will have an early birthday celebration for him while we're there.

We are going to try to fit in some beach trips this week before we leave. We want to go to some beaches we haven't visited yet. One is Esterillos, which is between Quepos and Jaco. It will take around 45 min. to get there by bus, but it is supposed to be a nice beach with good waves. Another is Damas Island. Eric met a guy who surfs and is working on the marina they are building here. He has access to a boat and wants to take trips out to Damas Island. It would probably take 20 min. or so by boat from Quepos. The surf break is out in the water, so the boat would sit and let the surfers off. I may tag along and chill on the boat.

There are other beaches we may visit as well that we have been to before. Of course, Manuel Antonio and also Hermosa. I hope to get some sun this week before coming home, although I've heard it is hotter in NC than it is here!

If anyone will be in the Raleigh/New Bern area June 22 - July 4, hit us up!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb