Misadventure, waterfalls, close calls, and hurray for traveller's checks!


Advertisement
Published: March 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well where do I begin!!

So I got on the night ferry from Putaranas to Paquera, wow was it beautiful and cool. Lovely moonlight crossing over the sea. Great fun!! Plus loads of places to do pull ups and strange displays of gymnastics. Not to mention a full bar! lol

We got to the port around 11pm. Silly me I believed it was in the city/village but no, it was not... middle of NOWHERE. Just darkness. A local suggested to sleep on the floor at the harbor but... hmmmm... no... there were guys in pickup trucks charging insane prices to take us to town so we said what the hell and hopped in the back. The ride was f#%$#^ awesome!!! Midnight stars above, whippin through the forest on a windy road just barely holding on to the metal bar at the back of the truck's cab. Sittin on the edge as we bumped along, I looked up at the stars, with the wind in my hair, going to who knows where, I thought to myself "this is soooo cool". -and it was. It gets worse then better. So buddy gets to town. Tries to extort a little more money from us and this other couple, but man was the other girl a feisty broad. She wasn't taken any crap and told him where to go. In the end we ripped him off a little and he whimpered away, muttering, "I hope you sleep well at night..." lol Damn straight we will!!! hahaha

So middle of "town" if you can call it that, past midnight in a place where everybody is sleeping by 10. The hotel where the other couple was staying was 30 bucks a night!!! Screw that! So off we went with our backpacks down the road... 1 km... 2 km... and a few questions to those that lurked, and alas... some type of hostel/hotel. Damn nice too. Thankfully the dude had 10 chiwawa's to bark up a storm and wake him. After a little negotiation and a really sad face from yours truly we got a very nice room for 18 dollars shared. pricy but ok. Plus dude had a beautiful, super warm pool!!! Can we say skinny dip!! Oh yes... First the little chiwawa's came out again to bark up a storm, I tried to befriend them but no, bark, bark, bark. So I rushed at them and stamped my foot and they actually squealed as they ran away. hehehe. the swim was gorgeous!! warm water. stars.... so wonderful... great day... except for the fact that I noticed I lost my bank card somewhere between there and Putaranas. with only 20 bucks left to name (before the room) I was a little worried. Especially with Peru coming up in week. Luckily I went to the one bank in the morning and cashed some life saving travellers checks. PS: totally the way to go no matter what they say, awesome things!!

Then we took a nice bus over to Motezuma, tiny tourist beach town on the pacific. Nice place. Looked for accommodations for a couple hours, trying to find a better price. Finally we were about to settle for a crap hole for 10 bucks a person (expensive) when I refused. I went to the laundry girl down the street and asked if she had a room. -and what good luck!! They rented us a tiny "pent house" hehehe apartment for only 20 bucks shared a day. same price basically. It was dirty as shit but totally cool, awesome, and beautiful in a groovy kind of way. I did see one cockroach though but whatever. It's really cute. We have a room with our own kitchen, stove (sort of) and fridge, even a balcony!! However the water pressure can't even stand up to a toddler taking a leak so... but whatever, I shower in the river. We went grocery shopping and i spent a little while cleaning essential areas. We didn't have much in terms of plates, etc. so we asked for more, and the pigs gave of the dirtiest crap that you wouldn't even give your dog. It was quite distasteful cleaning it... very questionable stuff I say... very questionable.. lol later I went for late night town stroll and fell asleep for a while on the beach then turned in under my private mosquito net contraption. there are only 2 or 3 mosquitoes in montezuma but late at night they like to bite me. 😊

next woke up. started to make breakfast but took a break to grab fresh bread and a cheep cappachino. they don't really know that there are giving you one if you order it in a special way. then its a quarter the price. hehehe. had breakfast and packed up. rushed off hiking up the road, up the river, and to the waterfall. took a nice swim and watched young boys attempting suicide off the cliffs. they I made a bad decision to cut up the cliff though the forest. underestimating how steep it was, how thick it was, how slippery it was, how sketchy it was, the bugs, beetles, ants, hiding snakes, and who knows what, it became a mission of no return. grabbing one root then another, hoping it would hold, not to slid down a hundred meters or more... at times there was nothing to hold. slipping on the thick foliage I though i might be screwed and grabbed whatever I could, bugs or snakes, it didn't matter, falling became the immeadiate danger, with dosen of sharp thorns to adorn my fall... finally we made it up. Praise god!!! and we came to a sort of field and a really cool object. It was like a... hmmm... a half sphere made of poles, the kind kids climb on, maybe 4 meters high with large triangles. drapped over it was a large torn, old parachute, making like a canopy. eran and I looked at each other... we both had the same thought at the same time.. CLIMBING!! hehehe and so we did, but I was a little chicken to get to the top, not having much confidence in the rusty bolts.

moving on, we found a nice path in the forest, towards upstream of the waterfall. we came to it and a lovely pool,having unknowingly past one more waterfall down stream between this and the first we had seen. on this waterfall, or rather underneath it there was a nice rope to make a tarzan swing into the pool, and boy did we use it!! my arms are sore, as the jolt from holding on past the bottom of the swing to go further after firing off the rock, was a little intense. a new appreciation for momentum and centripetal force.. hehehe

afterwards i climbed down the rockface to the bottom of the next waterfall to swim in the pool, bask in the shower, and pirch myself on the rock above the first massive waterfall we had seen. I was a little concerned at first that there might be a current to take me over, certainly ending my life. However I was sure to be cautious and test it out first. The water was moving very slowly and indeed it was safe. Several crazy guys jumped off this waterfall, but none from the top.

As the day grew late we decided to hike up the river for an hour or so. Thankfully we found a set of "stairs", an access to someones house. We went and found a road to take us back to town as the sun was setting now. Its ok we have flash lights. 😊

Saw a few breath taking mansions and holy shit hotels on the way back. Also ran down some very steep hills at holy crap speeds like kids do I guess - that was fun. i didn't know you could do that, and so easily too. anyways just got back to town to update my blog and by a red pepper for lunch tommorow. I'm really tired now... i will try to post all the pics of this adventure soon. maybe tomorrow so stay tuned!

bye!!

plan for tomorrow, unknown

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb