Jaco Beach


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Puntarenas » Jaco
January 22nd 2008
Published: January 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

We caught the bus today from San Jose to Jaco, it was only $2 but boy what a ride!! It was down curvey roads plus there was no a/c. My friend almost threw up on me. Anyway, we got the bus terminal about 1 1/2 early so we walked around a little. We walked through this market type thing that had everything from suitcases to cables and toilets. They were also selling cheeses and different meats plus I saw a counter that was selling chicken feet. They were raw otherwise I would have tried them.

I'm still having a great time and love Jaco. It is this cool little lazy beach town and the ocean is right there. I could walk to it from our hostel. I did go to the ocean when we got here while Kim and Michael took a dip in the pool. I have learned how to surf yet, maybe tomorrow. I haven't even seen any Macaws or Monkeys, maybe when we go to Manuel Antonio.

We are now deciding what to have for dinner. We just came from a little dive bar off the beaten path where we had beers and papas fritas (french fries). I know french fries in Costa Rica, what the crap? That's really the only appetizer type thing they have. On the way down here, there are all kinds of 'sodas' which are like lunch counter type things that serve the 'plato del dia'. This means you get whatever they decide to cook. Normally it is rice with whatever meat they have that day. It's a great way to try the local food. I'm digging the Arroz con Pollo. It's mighty tasty

Well, we are off to have dinner and some beers!! Hope everyone is enjoying my adventures and I will see you soon


Advertisement



22nd January 2008

Is Arroz con Pollo cooked chicken feet? Wish I was there. It was only 9 degrees here yesterday. Can't wait to see your pictures. Love YA!
25th January 2008

Who got sick?
Was it my glass-stomached brother Michael who almost threw up on you? :) The trip sounds great...I am still reading!!

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb