Faye Caballero's volunteer experience


Advertisement
Published: April 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Puerto Viejo

Puerto Viejo, a small surfers town on the Caribean.

I did not know what quite to expect when I decided to partake in the volunteer/vacation program sponsored by tropical Adventures.Having travelled around the continent extensively, I made the decision to do my first on hand volunteer work in Costa Rica. I have been in this country twice in the past. Why then C.R. to do this activity?

I feel safe, I love the people, the country and its beautiful surroundings. Where else can you find the most beautiful and hospitable people in the world?

For this wonderful experience, never mind the group tours in Tortuguero, Arenal, Irazu, etc. Let’s talk about, how I truly feel as I am typing my testimonial about my experience in Puerto Viejo, specifically teaching at Cocles Elementary School and getting to know the teachers, students and my new friend and coordinator, Isaac Garcia.

The beautiful children! Their zest to learn English, to meet a new friend, to be addressed as the ”Teacher” is an honor. How can I forget the sacrifice of the parents, teachers and the students just to get an education. To come down from the top of a mini mountain and walk to school everyday is a major undertaking. Can you imagine an American child doing that!

Isaac, you are truly one of a kind! I am truly humbled and will be forever grateful and honored in knowing you. You are a wonderful person. Thank you for your patience, your love of teaching and sharing. I could tell how much the children love and respect you for the sincerity that you exudes when you interact with them.

This experience has absolutely made me re think that the current economic and financial crisis that Americans are going through. It is very pale when compared to what the Bribri and the locals in Puerto Viejo are going through on a daily basis. Most of the people are concerned about feeding and educating their children coupled only with their sincere smiles.

I am very grateful to this God given gift of being able to get to know the Costa Ricans up close and personal- I am talking about the children and the nuns, taking care of the retirees in Bambu.

Lastly, I thank you Isaac and the staff of TA for making this such a fruitful experience. I can only hope that I will be able to come back and do this again. I will spread the word to my love ones in U.S.A.

Sincerely,

Faye Caballero


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb