Stuck


Advertisement
Published: January 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Journey

This has been my trip so far. The green is the airport in San jose. It then goes up to the lake you can see, Laguna Arenal, then westward to the Peninsula de Nicoya, playas Grande y Conchal. It goes back through Guanacaste to San Jose. From there, east to Turrialba for the 2 days on the Rio Pacuare, then back to San Jose for a night, continuing eas to Puerto Viejo on the carribean.

So, I find myself stuck in this cool little town, unable to force myself to catch a bus to the next place. Every night I make a tentative plan to get up and get a ticket and head to Panama the next day, but something always comes up, and it never happens. I was walking down main street the other night and ran into two girls that graduated from ASU that I head met earlier in the trip, and made plans with them to go take a boat to this organic farm where they are working, but of course, when yesterday came, I bailed and stayed again. I took a super long hike down the beach yesterday, about 11 kilometers, to a deserted beach in between Puerto Viejo and the Gandoca-Manzanillo wildlife refuge. It was breathtaking- crystalline blue waters with live coral as far as I could see out, huge palm trees and sparse mangos. I found a stick and ended up playing one man baseball for probably an hour, batting the little mangos into the ocean as I walked along, oblivious to how far I had been. I came around a corner a few kilometers later and stumbled upon some topless Brazilian girls, who did not seem at all embarassed to be found. Quite odd, yet awesome, I must say! I chilled in the hammock and started another book yesterday afternoon, then met some raft guides from Utah who are working down here, and we played some drinking games until dark (everybody the world over knows how to play asshole). I got my cheap carribean hamburger on the street that I have become so fond of, and called it an early night. I woke up fairly early this morning, then walked into town and found a great breakfast place, by far the best deal in town. It is a panaderia that overlooks the bay and has a surprisingly friendly staff, with abundant breakfasts for less than 4 dollars. I came to the internet cafe to blog a little, then I will do the long beach hike again, but this time I will take my snorkeling gear. I will probably be in town until Monday, that way I can make sure that I can be at a bar to see the Panthers game on Sunday afternoon. More to come as events transpire...

Pura Vida

Brian

Advertisement



6th February 2006

Toppless Brazilians!!!!
Sounds chillllllllll. Definately going to hit Brazil on my trip through South America.

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb