The Beach


Advertisement
Published: January 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Checking in from the Carribean coast, chillin in the small town of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, just a little ways up from the border of Panama. I got into town a few days ago, and have been just lounging ever since. The town is pretty small, right on the ocean with a huge surf spot, Salsa Brava, right out front. I am staying at the coolest hostel I have ever imagined, Rockin J's, THE place to be down here. There are tons of other travelers staying here, with accomodations ranging from tents, to the hammock hotel, to shared cabins and even a treetop room that you climb 100 feet up to. There are travelers here from all over the world, and English is by far the least used language. Just sitting in the common area you are bound to hear at least 4 different languages, people from Europe, South Africa, America, Thailand, etc. I have been hanging out with some kids from the states and a few locals, as well as a guy from Uruguay that owns one of the surf stores. My days consist of waking up super early with the sun, walking into town for a heavy breakfast and a few cups of coffee, then alternating between beach and hammock all afternoon, before sipping a cold one and walking back into town for a calypso-style dinner. This place is purely rasta, mostly descendants of Jamaicans and other Carribean islands, left over from the days of banana cultivation and train operators. Every building is ornately painted in the requisite red, green, and yellow, with open doors and windows and reggae music blaring from every room in the town. The locals are very friendly once you settle in, but they have grown tired of rich young tourists coming to their town in search of drugs and wild parties. It is easy, however, to escape that and find the true cool scene of bonfires on the beach at night with fellow travelers and locals, both young and old. I don't know how long I will stay, but I surely have not found a reason to leave yet. I can't get enough of the amazing palm-lined beaches, the huge surf or the laid back atmosphere. I will probably stay for 3 or 4 more days before heading down to the archipelago of Bocas del Toro, Panama for a little while. I will keep posting messages whenever there is a computer around. So long for now...
Pura Vida,

-Brian

Advertisement



12th January 2006

querido brian
querido Brian (dear Brian), I am sooo happy for you. Ever since you left, you have been in all our thoughts. I sounds like you are managing very well and I'm sure that you fit in perfectly! You will learn so much on your adventures and add light to the lives of everyone you meet. And, wow, we are all proud of you. Keep your head on your shoulders and your wits about you. You are sure to go a long way. ...Wish I could be there experiencing the same. One day I will. Ok, soak up some sun and mingle with the locals for me ;-) Cuidate mucho (take care). tu amiga, Marissa

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb