Sloth Magic


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Limón » Cahuita
August 11th 2005
Published: August 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

These photos are from 'Aviarios Del Caribe' a refuge for injured sloths that we visited near Cahuita. After watching the baby sloths get fed and put to bed we then met the adult ones (who get to stay up later) and then we went on a birdwatching trip by canoe down the river at the refuge. What a lovely day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Buttercup the slothButtercup the sloth
Buttercup the sloth

Mans best friend (well Dans best friend anyway)
Another adult sloth (I forgot her name how rude of me)Another adult sloth (I forgot her name how rude of me)
Another adult sloth (I forgot her name how rude of me)

By the way- a few people have asked me about the dress dan is wearing. Well its not a dress it is my bag and he was carrying it for me because I was sick and recovering from a jellyfish sting.
Baby sloths being fedBaby sloths being fed
Baby sloths being fed

Notice the babies are hugging teddy bears- sloths love to hug things and because they have lost their mums they have been given teddy bears to hug. They seem to leave the babies permanently attached to the teddy bears and carry them around with the teddy attached.
Birdwatching down the riverBirdwatching down the river
Birdwatching down the river

This was our guide Kali who was the lovelies guide ever. He had been working there for 30 years as a guide.
Dan minding the shipDan minding the ship
Dan minding the ship

Dan looked after our canoe while Kali went to pick me some flowers. Doesn't he look like a captain ;)
This is a caiman. This is a caiman.
This is a caiman.

They are like mini crocodiles. They were in the river next to our canoe.


Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0765s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb