In Costa Rica...


Advertisement
Published: November 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I made it to Costa Rica and I have seen no Mariachis; in case you remember my last out-of-country experience.

This place is beautiful. I am here just after the wet season ended, so everything is beginning to bloom.

We're staying at the Playa Conchal Resort in Guanacaste which is the Northwest section of the country.

There is no cell phone service and it is not easy to get on the internet, so you will not likely get too frequent of updates from me - and it may take until after the trip to post the pictures.

I'll have more interesting stories for you later; I just wanted to let you first know the basics.

Today I'm pretty much just taking it easy. Tomorrow a couple of us will be taking a jeep out who-knows-where for a four hour treck. Many of the tours that can be bought I just can not do because of my cast, but there are several I still have to choose from.

Tuesday I'll take a 10 hour tour, part of the day by boat and ending with a tour of a coffee factory.

An added, little complexity is this keyboard I'm typing from. Spanish keyboards have a lot more keys.

Look back or below for one ealier post I made that didn't generate an email notice...


Advertisement



18th November 2007

Terrific David, Costa Rica is one of my all time favorite countries. I created and managed collaborative education and research opportunities with 6 Ministers of Health when I worked for Baylor University Medical Center in the 1980's. We did a lot of work in Costa Rica. If you get a chance, be sure to go to Volcán Irazú if you get a chance. The volcano is in the central part of Costa Rica. There is nothing like standing above the rim, looking down at the lava dome, then looking west and seeing the Pacific and looking east and seeing the Gulf of Mexico. I have a lot of find memories of this beautiful country. Have fun.
18th November 2007

where else are you going?
David - where else are you going in CR? If you can schedule it, go on a tree top zipline tour in the cloud forest or manuel antonio. Also, the hot springs in Arenal are really nice. Jealous you are there! Julie
19th November 2007

well well
i called you as usual and i got no return call.. then i realized.. hey.. david is in puerto rico!!snap i mean costa rica... have fun!!!
19th November 2007

Julie is right
The Hot springs at Arenal is simply the best happy hour on the planet. The Cuba Libres are the best. If you are lucky the night sky will be clear and you can see the volcano going off above you.. If you decide to go to Manuel Antonio from the Nicoya Penn, consider taking the early ferry from Puntarenas. Great sight. Have fun, am very jealous
19th November 2007

Oops!
Delete my previous post, would ya? Accidentally left it on the wrong blog entry. Lo siento!
19th November 2007

Foot/ankle/leg
While you're there, perhaps you can test out Costa Rica's health care system? It wouldn't kill ya to get a second opinion on that busted ankle of yours... :)

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb