# 1 ~ ' Bucket List '


Advertisement
Published: April 27th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Not terribly sure when I made my mental ' bucket list ', but it's been cruising around for quite a while ! 😊



# 1 SAILING ~ the thought of flapping white sails, blue/turquoise seas, the wind in my hair, hot sun on my face................aahhhh.

The dream came true last Monday. My birthday...in Costa Rica !

My husband booked us a trip on the beautiful schooner, ' Antares', based in Tamarindo.

We waded out into the shallows, where the sea was as warm as bath water & climbed into a small motor boat for the short distance to Antares. We crested & crashed through large waves & a shrieking young woman clung to my right arm, as though her life depended on me. She seemed to relax a little once I started laughing, but didn't let go of my arm !

The crew were ready to help us on deck, after we'd climbed the ship's ladder, then got us all settled on huge bean bags, before we headed to the open ocean.

It was every bit as wonderful as I'd always imagined & I stood at the bow, with the wind in my hair. Hot sun on my face.

A marvelous entertainer from Panama, Max, sang & played guitar while delicious food & drinks kept coming. After anchoring in a quiet bay, so the passengers could jump overboard & enjoy swimming/snorkeling, we headed back to shore, while appreciating one of Costa Rica's incredible sunsets.



# 1 10/10 !!



# 2 ~ Costa Rica itself. I had been researching CR for the past 15 years, as a possible retirement spot. We finally made the decision to check it out, after getting terribly 'fed-up' with British Columbia's unusually long, cold winter.

The moment I stepped outside Liberia's airport, felt that intense heat & heard the humming of cicadas, I smiled. And didn't stop for a week.

It was an hour-long shuttle drive to Tamarindo, but in an air-conditioned bus, it wasn't a problem.

We walked on the beach before supper & were assured that the high-season crowds would disappear the next day. They did. We couldn't have timed things better. By the time we went swimming at 8.30 the next morning, the beach was deserted. YAY !

During the week, we became ' groupies' & listened to Max ( from the schooner ) at a different restaurant every night. They are all on the beach and there was no mosquito problem, as it was still dry season.



The only 'downside' to this trip was..........having to leave !


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb