Tamarindo for 5 weeks!


Advertisement
Published: November 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

ANTS! COCKROACHES AND SCORPIANS.....OH MY!

Welcome to Costa Rica! I'm going to get my bug rant over first....Being the peaceful non killing vegetarian type we are, we have been very busy shoo-ing the big black and white ants out of our room. Sweep sweep little guys, out the door you go!

But alas, just as we were getting ready for bed last night, I was pulling the large curtain closed to cover the sliding glass door, when on the back of the curtain I thought I saw little legs ..... Of something....

Now as some of you may know I have been working VERY hard to get over my Arachnephobia considering we were heading to Central America for 6 months...right? So instead of shrieking like a banshee, I did a little yelp and ran my behind my big strong spider saving husband. He proceeded to grab the broom to knock the little friendly spider to the floor so we could shoo it outside the door with all his little ant friends...but what happened next is forever etched into my corneas.

Out of the curtain landed a 2 inch scorpian! The massive creature landed with a "thud" and ran right into Ian's abandoned shoe. We were frantically discussing what to do with this animal and as we (well Ian) was poking at his shoe the scorpian came running out and was making a bee-line for under thE couch. My quick thinking man took his big shoe and squished it . 😞 i feel bad, but he should not have tried to co-habitate with us.

Ok, now back to our adventures, we have finally settled in to our new Casa for the next 5 weeks. We're in a little surfing town named Tamarindo with lots of gringos and young people here to surf. The waves are medium size, perfect for learning and the less experienced. Ian plans on giving it a whirl!

Since the sun is only up for about 11.5 hrs/day, we have been getting up early and going for a nice cool walk down the beach each morning, while its still below 30C. After that we come back and have breaky, nap, check emails, tidy up, nap, walk to the store, sit by the pool, read, nap, then make dinner about 4ish. At 5:13 pm the most excellent sunset happens down at the beach, which is a 5 minute walk. We usually partake in that Followed by a stroll again down the beach. By the time we get back to our casa, its pitch black out (6ish) we watch some things on the computer that Ian has pirated and then off to bed (hopefully with no more scorpian adventures) .....and get to do it all again to tomorrow! We re going to include some adventures soon, got to calculate the budget, but right now if feels real good to do nuttin......been going full strength for soooo long.

I am including lots of pictures below and a video of our casa, hopefully they will all show up lol!

Amigos

Karen


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

our private poolour private pool
our private pool

right now we are the only ones staying at our casa, there are 5 units,so its all ours muhahaha


11th November 2012
Tamarindo day3 014

your pics
What a fantastic beach you are walking on. The sand seems so clean and is it a fine sand. Its so wide, and best of all, not another person to be seen. All the plants and flowers are amazing, and Karen, just imagine living in a place where orchids are growing just outside your little cottage. How wonderful. xo
12th November 2012
Tamarindo day3 014

Yes it's been a dream for a long time! Wish you were here!! X
14th November 2012

Date November 14, 2012 That Pool
I would be in the pool a lot each day.
2nd December 2012

These blogs are making me want to go to Costa Rica
Although, right now I might as well be in another country since I now live in Mid Missouri, heh. IE: Scorpions. Growing up in Arizona, you learn not to freak out when you see those things pretty fast. I must admit I'm a little more barbaric than either of you when it comes to bugs. YSu casa es bonito. It is much more picturesque than my hotel. My view outside the door is a dirt parking lot and the second building of rooms :) I Love it though. Awesome pictures - I especially like the heart on the beach. It's so dang adorable :D

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb