Day 6


Advertisement
Published: December 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello Again, Everything in Tamarindo is great as always. I don't think I can say enough about how much we both love this area. Yesterday finished up great. We were able to get most of our shopping done and grabbed a few more potstickers and lettuce wraps for lunch. Later I decided to put my expertise at work and cooked dinner. (Hope this makes you Jealous Scott) The manager of the hotel pointed us into the direction to find some fresh seafood. After a short walk through the jungle we came across Pedro's, a local hangout mostly for fishermen. One of their employees/boat captains happened to be english and tracked down a kilo(2.2#) of fresh shrimp and 2 fresh lobsters, all for about $15. Next we went to the market to get some produce and I stumbled upon culinary gems. In the states a soup mix might contain the usual day old veg, carrots cellery potatoes....but here a variety of the freshest baby vegetables that I've seen in a while. It consisted of baby carrots,zucchinni, corn, patty pan squash, and at my favorite "baby mirlitons". I couldn't believe it and all for mere change. Anyway, I made a delicious and cost efficient coconut milk and rum soup with our gatherings along with some freshly baked bread and of course a few Imperial. Today was amazing, we woke up around 630 and headed to Rincon de La vieja. We got there earlier than I expected and so we had a little lunch before we started the zip line tour. The tour consisted of about 8 platforms from which you harness yourself from and simply zip down the wires from one platform to the next. The views of the conyon were breathtaking. We headed back to Tamarindo shortly after our tour to catch our last sunset on the beach in Tamarindo. It is now around 730 and we are about to head back into town to finish our shopping and enjoy our last dinner here. We will unfortunatly be heading back to the states in the morning and will post my last entry untill my next trip. This one has definitely been one to remember and will be tough to top. The people here have been unbelievably hospitable and gracious, I can see how everyone falls in love with the tico lifestyle and the surroundings have been everything I hoped for and more, from the wild flowers to the Howler monkeys that wake us in the mornings in time for breakfast.

Pura Vida,
Rob

Advertisement



8th January 2006

Sorry but after reading your blog and noticed you came across Pedro's. That place is awsome had some of the best seafood I've ever had.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb