Palo Verde


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Guanacaste » Nicoya
November 27th 2012
Published: November 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hola from the hottest driest place in Costa Rica (at least thats what it feels like)!

This place is like Cuerici in the sense that I dont feel like i am in Costa Rica at all. However that is the last similarity. It feels like a very hot summer in California everyday, which I like a lot! Definitely better than the constant rain in Monteverde. There is a really neat marsh with lots of wildlife - including crocodiles! I wish I could take pictures but I have only seen them at night. If you walk on the boardwalk in the dark, you can see there eye shine. Kind of creepy. But also awesome. Also mosquitoes. Boo. Out of all the places I have been in Costa Rica, I have been bitten most here. I think there is a different species here or something because you can feel it when one runs into you - they are huge. My legs are all bitten up and a little swollen :/ That's right - I have cankles.

But that is the only thing I have to complain about. Yesterday we were collecting data in the field and were interrupted by a troop of white faced monkeys. Super cute. I got the best pictures of the trip so far. There are also a lot of horses in the area. We've been having to get up early this week for our independent projects, and i was quite startled when I opened my door at 5am to come face to face with a horse. Apparently they are prime meals for the vampire bats around here 😞

I hiked a trail called La Roca the other day where I was able to see the entire marsh, 360 degrees. The sunset was awesome (see pic). The boardwalk or bird tower are also great places with views for sunset viewing or star gazing. I think it's going to be wierd to come home to the winter after this!

We're winding down the program here and have been really busy. Research for independent projects started this week and finals are next week. I'll post again before I bid farwell to Costa Rica.

Hasta Luego,

Kelsey


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



28th November 2012

great sunset !!!
Hi sweetie, good pics...thanks. And good to hear your voice again the other nite. Life here probably sounds boring, (& sometimes it is, though busy) to someone in Costa Rica who is seeing new stuff every day, horses in your front yard & monkeys. We did go to a presentation at BIRDS UNLIMITED about owls. They had a lecture w/slides & sounds & real owls...a barn owl & a great horned owl...one of ea....so beautiful. My favorite is the barn owl w/ its white dish face. That's the one I had to duck when we first moved here & I was walking near the lagoon as it got dark. I felt it was a spiritual welcoming...I also saw a deer & a huge jack rabbit that evening...& not since!!! So enjoy your last couple of wks in CR & "keep dancing" I gave Reiki to your mother today & continue to send you yours every AM. Pa & I are very proud of you & your courage & we'll see you soon. XOXO

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb