Streets paved with Molases


Advertisement
Published: February 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi again from the lovely surf town of Santa Teresa. Still living the beach life which consists of a lot of surfing, reading, more surfing and perhaps some serious lying around. Tough life. But I have managed to do some cultural outings. After I got to montezuma, I rented a bike in town and biked the 9km to Cabo Blanco, one of Costa Rica's first National parks. The bike ride was beautiful. Right along the ocean on one side and lot's of beautiful farmland on the other. And because it's a dirt road and in the dry season the dust can be unbearable, so they dump molases on top of the dirt in order to settle the cloud that inevitably kicks up as numerous SUV's and fourwheelers cruise by at top speed. But in the sun, the molases heats up and the aroma is delicious!

The park was great. It was a couple hours to hike the trail system that led down to a fairly secluded beach. Tons of amazing seashells and huge friggat birds diving for fish on the coast. Saw lot's of monkeys and buterflys the size of my head. After the hike I biked back and called it a day. Left Montezuma and came to Santa Teresa where I met up with some friends I had made in Nicaragua.

Staying at this great hostel that is just minutes from the beach and seems more like a surf comun than a travellers place. Everyone eats, breaths and lives to surf. Kind of cool but not much diversity in terms of interests. The surfing is okay but really too big for my liking. I've had a few moments where I was staring at a wall of water about 10 feet high that could potentially crash on my head and wondering what the hell I was doing out there. But mostly I get bashed around in the crashing whitewater.

Tomorrow I head to San Jose to do some shopping and perhaps a little spa action. My third camera of the trip got stolen a few weeks ago so I need to buy yet another one. Thank god for insurance. Also, I'm on my 5th pair of flip flops as they often get stolen from the beach or because I now buy really cheap ones, they tend to break a lot. Adios!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb