¡So great to be back!


Advertisement
Published: April 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey que tuanis es Costa Rica, hay un monton de calor, la gente son muy pura vida como siempre, la comida es excelente y la cerveza todovia esta bien fria!

First of all to those who dont know I spent the year 2000 in Costa Rica as an exchange student through AFS. For those that do know, know that ive been hanging out every since to return...

The past three days have brought back so many memories and reminded me how much I love this country, there is definatly a natural mystic blowing in the air here. Its crazy how many people and friends ive met up with again without any numbers or contacts. Funny how the world works. Anyways, after arriving on the bus in Liberia from San Jose at about 9pm tuesday night (after talking to an old class mate the whole way who just happened to be sitting across the isle, who gave me a few numbers and filled me in on what he knew of our old class) I headed straight to Las Tinajas. A small cafe, resturant to one side of the town centers park which we used to hang out in almost every day which I was stoaked to see still has the same owners, who remembered me straight away. Christopher their son was there who is a good friend (who has a daughter, like half of my school mates) an i enjoyed a great meal and a couple of Imperials like the old days. He took me to Katarines house (another classmate) who im sure woke the neighbour hood with her screaming. Was like walking in a dream, everything was exactly the same everywhere apart from all have cell phones now which ive found have definatly taken over the world. Spent the night with my old family who are just the same, only the next day i woke to find my ´nephew´staring at me, Harolito who is the coolest 2yr old with far to much energy. In the morning I went to my old school, Liceo Laboritorio, for a walk around, cooking in 35 degrees, and found it to be pretty much the same also, met a dude Oz from USA who is there on exchange this year as i was in 2000. We spent the arvo walking around town to my old friends houses in search of buddys, ended up finding
New Zealand yoNew Zealand yoNew Zealand yo

I like this one as I was on a crowded bus in downtown Vancouver and in the corner was my pack with a New Zealand flag on it.
about 5 and speaking to a couple on the phone. Alot (those that dont have children) are now studing in Uni or working. Was a great day, the evening was spent with Gorrdo, my old bus driver with whom i used to drop the kids of at school then we would cruz for breakfast then return to school for a sleep in the bus. Good times. I remember our class trip to the beach with Gorrdo, our first stop was the Liquor store and by 2pm in the arvo Gorrdo was past out in the bus while we had far to guaro to ourselves. Angela a class mate also met me after work and we went to Bolas a bar we used to go to and met up with Popi and Victor her brother.
So im completly stoked and feeling great. My old surfing buddies are still going hard and this weekend will be spent at the beach. Cant wait, take care everyone, its 38 degrees today which is a huge jump for 0 degrees in Canada, sleeping is difficult, anyways now the photo session.......


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

On to SeatleOn to Seatle
On to Seatle

Our small plane for the 90 minute flight to Seatle
Guatamala!Guatamala!
Guatamala!

A volcano close the the airport, beautiful looking country
Annick and IAnnick and I
Annick and I

She picked me up from the airport which was great because I would have been lost after about 50m if I had ventured out alone
Pito, Annick and mePito, Annick and me
Pito, Annick and me

We went for a cerveza that evening with Annicks brother Pito who just happens to play gutair, surf and enjoys the same music
HarolitoHarolito
Harolito

My lil nephew who had a great time walking around in my shoes
My lil bro and meMy lil bro and me
My lil bro and me

I think hes gunna be a musical dude, he loved the guitar!
Not much has changedNot much has changed
Not much has changed

Everyone still stares at a gringo like your in a zoo
The churchThe church
The church

This is on the other side of El Parke from Las Tinajas
Las Tinajas!Las Tinajas!
Las Tinajas!

The best for last, table three in Las Tinajas with Oz chilling out in the heat, was the best feeling in a long time


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb