Just another day in paradise


Advertisement
Published: September 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bird of ParadiseBird of ParadiseBird of Paradise

For my mom, different than yours, eh.
Everyone has a different definition of Paradise. The following definitions are courtesy of Dictionary.com
par‧a‧dise  ˈpær əˌdaɪs, -ˌdaɪz - Show Spelled Pronunciation

1. heaven, as the final abode of the righteous.
2. an intermediate place for the departed souls of the righteous awaiting resurrection.
3. (often initial capital letter ) Eden (def. 1).
4. a place of extreme beauty, delight, or happiness.
5. a state of supreme happiness; bliss.

People often ask why we moved here or what we like most about being here. From the first time we visited Costa Rica, I was convinced that it was closer to heaven than anywhere else on earth. Sure other places are beautiful but do they capture your heart and soul as Costa Rica does? Just ask anyone who returns from their first trip here. On our flight back to the states after that first visit a little over a year ago, tears inexplicably began to stream down my face. My heart was breaking because I was leaving the place I belonged. For the first time in my life, after just ten days, I had found the place I belonged. All the running and searching throughout my life had finally
2:30 in the afternoon2:30 in the afternoon2:30 in the afternoon

I love being engulfed by the clouds.
brought me home.

In my mind, the way all the puzzle pieces came together for the move only proved my belief that this was where we were supposed to be. The details weren’t always easy but nothing you want in life comes without effort. Six months after the initial visit, our little family had left jobs, sold our house and most of our belongings to live in paradise.

Bill was convinced moving to Costa Rica was the right thing to do for our family for all the logical reasons, climate, cost of living, property and construction costs, etc. His heart however wasn’t in the same place mine had been from that first visit. Don’t get me wrong, he’s loved every minute of living here but having never lived anywhere besides Arizona it was hard for him to let go of the belief that Arizona was home, until recently.

I’m not sure what clicked in his heart or in his head but one day it hit him. Perhaps it was the time spent showing our son Craig around our new country, possibly our neighbor bringing us fresh baked Chayote bread one morning or the Pan Man, Lucas asking to come spend time with him so he could practice his English. The one thing I do know is that one day he looked at me with tears in his eyes and said he was home. He hasn’t been the same since. A new peace had settled within him. He was home, mind, body and soul. For some it takes a little longer.

Today, a little over seven months later we’re convinced more than ever Costa Rica is paradise. Pick whichever of the above definitions you choose, for us they all fit.

PURA VIDA!

Jen, Bill, Callista and Bear



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Blue Crowned MotMotBlue Crowned MotMot
Blue Crowned MotMot

The MotMot came around as I was grilling chicken for dinner.


13th September 2006

How lovely! Pura vida indeed.
13th September 2006

Home
"Home is where the heart is." Glad you and Bill have found the place your hearts have been searching for !!
18th September 2006

BEAUTIFUL DESCRIPTION
VERY WELL WRITTEN. I KNOW HOW YOU FEEL. I FELT THE SAME WAY ON OUR VISIT IN APRIL. I CAN'T WAIT TO MOVE THERE. I FEEL LIKE THAT IS WHERE I BELONG TOO. IT'S HOME.

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0967s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb