The greenest country on earth - Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: December 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Trip number 2 the beautiful Costa Rica. Hello Paradise !



Its summer time again and its on to my next adventure. This time is a little different im heading to a host house. A lovely Spanish speaking family have agreed to house me and feed me while I volunteer at a local child protection centre. This trip is much more of a challenge as it requires me to learn Spanish. I struggle at first with my basic high school Spanish but soon pick it up after a week or two. The family I live with and the children at the centre know no English whatsoever so it forces me to learn quickly. My days are spent playing, reading and educating these children and its so much fun. They are so eager to play games and learn all about you. On weekends I get to travel to other parts of this amazing country that is not widely known in the uk. Costa rica is a hidden gem of south America and is one of the greenest and adventurous countries you will ever go to. Theres so much to do and see. My weekends are spent along the carribean coast which is two hours away from the area I have been living. Its beautiful and really makes you feel that you are on a pure tropical island somewhere. I spend five weeks getting to know the children and my host family. On my last week they take me to a restaurant in the hills and we catch out own fish to eat for dinner. They have been a wonderful family that have been so nice and friendly its been a pleasure meeting them. On my sixth week I do a tour around joining some of the best activities in costa rica. I go white water rafting which was incredible and stirs a passion inside me for the sport. I also go to an animal sanctuary and meet the native sloths who are incredible creatures and so cute. I also take part in zip lining, island hopping, meeting some crocs, and sampling the local bannanas at the biggest banana factory in costa rica. This trip brought out my adventurous side and a thirst for travelling.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb