I love you South Africa


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town » Camps Bay
July 11th 2010
Published: December 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

My first solo trip was to south Africa in 2010. I was on summer break at Staffordshire university and didnt really fancy the whole im going to ibiza to get wasted for two weeks trip. This trip changed my life forever and i will never be the same person again.


So my journey starts at Heathrow airport. Im sitting alone with that nervous feeling in the pitt of my stomach. Then my flight gets called I know that in one month that ill be laughing at how nervous I was. I board the plane and get sat next to young couple who tell me they have been living in London for the past 4 years but have decided to head home. They tell me everything I need to know about the country and make me feel at ease immediately. I touch down and am greeted at the airport by a smiley face and sign with my name. Just like you see on the movies. I then walk over introduce myself and get into the car on my journey to the house. I meet all the other travellers like me and some are solo some in couples. The next day Im on my way to a very special place. I arrive to see 28 pairs of eyes on me all coming out to greet me. The area around is sparse it contains basic housing and stray animals. This place is called mufuleni and it’s a township in south Africa. I head inside and meet the children I have been excited to see for the past 5 months. They did not disappoint they are happy,smiley and eager to play. The place that contains all these beautiful children is masigcine childrens home. Its home to 28 kids who are either affected by hiv, orphaned or neglected. Looking into the eyes of these kids makes my heart melt. I know that saving money for the past 5 months and not going on all those drunken nights out at uni was totally worth it. Im in the summer holidays between my first and second year of uni. I don’t really know what made me travel to south Africa I guess I was seeking adventure and trying to find my place in life. My 3 weeks at the childrens home was one of the best experiences of my life. Just playing with the children and knowing that you are making a difference to their lives is overpowering. On the fourth week I decided to do a tour of the southern tip of Africa. This presented so many incredible opportunites for me wine tasting, playing with tiger and cheetah cubs, zip lining, riding an ostrich and seeing all these hidden little towns that most people don’t get to see. I arrive back in heathrow with a huge smile on my face and a section of my heart reserved for those children and the beautiful journey ive just had.





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb