Day 15: La Fortuna – Rappelling and swimming in waterfalls!


Advertisement
Published: July 28th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today, Renata and I are going canyoning in the Lost Canyon and horseback riding and swimming at La Fortuna Waterfall. I have never been canyoning before nor have I swam in a waterfall. Two first time adventures in one day!



Our first excursion of the day was canyoning. A bumpy ride up to the Lost Canyon was rewarded with great views of the countryside. When we reached our final destination, we settled into our safety gear and after a brief safety talk, we headed to the first waterfall.



Rappelling down the first waterfall, “the Baby” was a little nerve racking but once I got the hang of it, it was incredible. Renata and I rappelled down four waterfalls, jumped into pools, zipped our way on guided rappels and got soaked by rapids. The scariest part was when we were told to let go of the reins, for a guided free fall drop. The terrain was also very slippery. I fell two times but the experience was worth it and I would do it again.



Our next excursion was a horseback ride to La Fortuna waterfall and meeting the Maleku, an indigenous tribe.
Horseback RidingHorseback RidingHorseback Riding

Meet "Pura Vida"
I wore my Keen quick dry hiking sandals because they would dry faster when I went swimming at La Fortuna waterfall. But in hindsight, I should have worn my running shoes. My feet did not completely fit in the foot holders of the saddle of my horse. I uncomfortably held onto my horse, “Pura Vida” as he happily galloped ahead of the pack. I finally relaxed as I soaked in the cool waters of La Fortuna Waterfall.



Our last stop was meeting a couple of Maleku. We learned about their traditional way of life and the various handicrafts they create: carvings, painting of wooden masks and Jucara (bowls made from gourds).



Tomorrow, we are going on our first cave exploring adventure before we head of on an Arenal Volcano Hike plus Hot Springs Tour.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Horseback RidingHorseback Riding
Horseback Riding

Meet "Golden Hair"
Hanging BridgeHanging Bridge
Hanging Bridge

On the way to La Fortuna Waterfall


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb