Volcanos and hot springs!


Advertisement
Published: December 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, yesterday we decided to take our big tour - hiking in the rainforest, which turned out to be a gentle walk through a very wet wood. No, I´m kidding, it was pretty surreal to think I was actually standing in a place that we talk about all the time. Not much wildlife to see. We supposedly saw a tarantula´s nest and a spider´s home, but I had my eyes closed - thankfully there was no one in at the time. We also passed btoht the two-toed and three-toed sloths, but without my super-vision I just saw some ball type things hanging from the trees!! I did see a toucan and a white hawk and a teeny tiny frog.

The volcano was rather disappointing as it was covered in cloud and also tipping it down as we stood at the base staring straight ahead. We had been told that only 15% of people ever see any activity so after twenty minutes watching paint dry, erm I mean volcano watching, it was quite a treat to see a really bright red trickle of lava pour down the side. The weather has shown no signs of improving today, in fact it is torrential, so we probably won´t try for a second time tonight.

We then went to the hot springs, which were amazing. ONe guide book describes thaçem as a Greek orgy and another says that Spielberg could use them as a set for the Garden of Eden. They are natural water cascading into small pools and varying in temperature from a warm bath to 41.5 degrees. Even the "plunge pool" was warm. We soaked in the heat with the rain pouring on top of us before having an enormous buffet. This was quite a treat of an expedition, costing a whole $58, but was well worth it, even if we didn´t see any volcano action!

Photos are taking forever to upload, so will post the rest later...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



19th December 2007

'COASTA Rica'
I've just got one thing to say to you....... 'I was raised in North Carolina and I'm a RAFT GOD!!!!'

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb