Found a place in Atenas & moving in tomorrow!


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Atenas
January 18th 2011
Published: January 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As it turns out I'll be staying in a place in downtown Atenas called Ana's Place Apartments that I looked at online a few months ago but it was way too expensive. Well just on a whim I emailed them just before coming here and then contacted them again as someone I met here knows them well. It just so happens that they had a studio become available yesterday that isn't yet reserved so they are willing to rent it to me for half price since I'll be paying for the remaining almost 2 months up front. You can look at photos of the place through this link. If you go to "apartments" you can look at three photos of a studio called "butterfly" the one I'll be renting is next to it and called "frog". http://www.anasplaceapartments.com/
You'll see it's in a truly beautiful setting with grounds that are very well maintained.

So I'll be taking a taxi from here in the morning down to Coca Cola, so I can take my two suitcases. Then do the one-hour bus ride to Atenas. I imagine even though it's not far to Ana's Place I might take a taxi from the bus stop there as it's hard for me to manage them both when walking, especially on rather bumpy & rough pavement.

This morning Margie & I took a bus down to M & N (Munez & Nane), a popular small mall with a cafe and few other shops. Our main reason was to go to the bank to get cash in colones. After going to the bank we stopped at a grocery store that actually had a few gluten-free things...not bread but different kinds of flours, etc for making things from scratch. Sop I bought a few things as I don't think any of the stores in Atenas carry gluten-free anything.

Ciao,
Barb


Advertisement



18th January 2011

I love your new digs!!! Looks perfect. Good luck tomorrow.
19th January 2011

I'm pretty excited...
about it too!

Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb