Stingrays, Coral, Fishies, Mel and Jess in Grand Cayman . . .


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was the last port day with Mel and Jess and we were in Grand Cayman.

In my opinion, the site to see in Grand Cayman is stingray city where you can snorkel with the stingrays and Mel and Jess agreed with my suggestion. We did a combo tour where we got to go snorkeling along the coral reef and then with the rays. While I've been out with the stingrays probably about a half dozen times, this specific tour and the snorkel spot was new for me, so that was nice.

WOW. The snorkeling along the reef was incredible. Definitely one of the best snorkel sites I've been to, and at this point, I've been to a lot! I've seen more fish on other tours, but there were still plenty around. But as far as the coral and reef itself goes, I've only seen things that great while diving. I loved it. I could have spent hours at that spot alone.

The second stop was with the stingrays. We didn't go to the sandbar part of Stingray City; we stayed out in the deeper waters. It was less crowded with other boats, but there were so many
My Favourite My Favourite My Favourite

I think this is my favourite photo EVER using my waterproof camera.
people on our tour, it was still pretty crazy with bodies. We preferred to move away from the crowds and just enjoyed swimming along above the rays. The guides would guide the rays to the top of the water, so we still got to have photo ops and to touch them.

We had plenty of time to just relax on the boat too, sailing along, soaking up the sunshine. But when our tour ended, we were wiped. We've had late nights and long days and I've been working too! The girls felt shopped out, so other than making a quick stop for them to sample some rum cake at the rum factory shop in town, we just headed back to the ship for lunch and much-needed naps.

Tomorrow we have a day at sea, but then Mel and Jess will be headed home. I will be sad to see them go! But it means that the end of this contract is finally in sight. I've only 3 weeks to go!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Along the ReefAlong the Reef
Along the Reef

This is a close second favourite.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb