Grand Cayman alcohol too expensive


Advertisement
Published: December 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

12/27/08 - Saturday, moving day - Okay, I’m a lush!

I’ve decided that besides not having my cats here, my only complaint is the high price of liquor/beer/wine (North Carolina is not cheap for alcohol and this is worse). I’ve had to resort to what is “on sale” right now for Amsterdam beer at 99 cents CI 330 ml cans of beer that is worse than PBR. I miss my box of red wine (not available here) that’s 12.99 US or so for 5 liters. And there’s no “generic” hard alcohol either, and very little amber/dark beer. A 6-pack of pale lager is about $10.00 US - other than that, I could deal with the higher cost of food, and settle in for most of the year. Altho, when it’s normally windy here, I’m not sure I would want to tough out the occasional hurricane.

We have moved to our “home” resort and DGS and I spent time out in the hammock - wonderful even tho windy. Had dinner at the Blue Iguana restaurant on site with the “welcome” coupon for DD’s mahi-mahi dinner, and chicken tender dinner for DGS (about $39.00 CI plus tip). I had snacked before
Yacht in the distanceYacht in the distanceYacht in the distance

Appears to have its own helicopter
and snitched a little from theirs.

This morning prior to moving, we spent a little more than an hour on the beach out from the Seven Mile Beach Resort and Comfort Suites. DGS and I snorkeled and saw lots of different fish; my little Vivitar UW camera is not working really well - it does great on shore and so-so in water. There is a large yacht in port that has its own helicopter -- couldn’t see a name on it, darn. It’s been kind of cloudy and windy today, but was okay on the beach for a reasonable amount of ray time for DD. And an hour or so seems like enough time to us usually, because being pale-skinned we don’t want to burn.

We had bkfst and lunch at our first condo; we had an overlap day today, when we had time to move to our second resort, without checking out of the first one (a timeshare thing that happened), so it was a leisurely day, but we had to strip the beds in the first one, sweep the floors, move all our accumulated stuff, switch fridge stuff, etc. in the space of 2-3 hours.
Fish upper leftFish upper leftFish upper left

Obviously I'm not going to be known for my fish phtography!

Ups and downs today (good beach and hammock time, but annoying cleaning and moving duties) - looking forward to the leisurely next few days.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.423s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.3028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb