Farewell Belize!


Advertisement
Published: January 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Belize CityBelize CityBelize City

From the plane.

Maya Walk Tour Offices, San Ignacio



Ended up at Martha's for dinner last night. Ran into Lucien and his dad and George along the way. Caroline and her brother and their family were already eating at Martha's when we arrived. Matt went with pizza (good, but not nearly NY quality) and I had a huge burrito. Ran into Lucian and his dad again and the four of us went to the Internet Cafe and then on to Deja Vu (run by a crazy German guy) just across the bridge in Santa Elena for my final Belekin of the trip. I think I'll actually miss the beer. Headed home around 11:30 pm and crashed.
Got up at 6:30 this morning and booked a spot on a direct shuttle to the airport. So much nicer than getting back on the buses.

Belize International Airport



Caught a ride with Jimmy of Maya Walk Tours to the airport. He had all sorts of stories to tell - his wife in LA as a caretaker after a kidney operation; the Dutch girl who took up with a Caye Caulker rastafarian who ran off with all her stuff; the guy seduced by 5 British grils who is now accused of rape...crazy stuff. Plus I got multiple offers to stay with him in Belize or sell his tours in LA. Of course, made it to the airport in record time and even after clearing customs have 2 1/2 hours until my plane takes off. It seems likes ages ago that Matt and I grabbed breakfast at Hanna's and said our goodbyes. Real time - 3 hours.
I calculated out total trip cost: $730 + 35,000 frequent flyer miles. Not bad at all considering all that I've done! I'm unbearably sad to be leaving though. I'll miss the boats with Reggae music, crazy rides through Guatemala, cocunt rum, and all the cool travelers that I encountered along the way.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Hanna'sHanna's
Hanna's

Farewell Breakfast.
CloudsClouds
Clouds

Farewell Belize!


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb