Final Day


Advertisement
Published: January 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I just saw off friends from Toronto. They are taking the water taxi into Belize City and then a taxi to the airport. I opted for the extra couple hours on the island and will be taking the afternoon flight to the international airport.

Woke at 5:30 this morning. My temperamental camera took several photo's, very shocking. Then, the sun slowly rose behind the clouds sending rays through the clouds into every direction. You'll have to imagine it at the camera locked up then. After some technically advanced tinkering (I pounded it several times), the lens closed and I am able to get it back into the case. Whew! Very awkward trying to get it packed otherwise.

Yesterday, I walked the beach and ran into two people fishing. They are from Fort Collins. In the internet cafe, a woman browsing the used books mentioned she was from Colorado, Estes Park.

This morning, I met a young woman taking photo's of sunrise who is Swiss. At breakfast I met a couple from Anchorage. Then another diver from Canada named Tandra. All this before 8:00 in the morning.

Those of you who know me are aware that people are the highlight of my trip. So many interesting stories: "We both quit our jobs, we are traveling and fishing here for a while then meeting friends to ski before driving to Alaska to look for jobs. We want to live there and experience that for a bit."

"I came to Caye Caulker for three days to visit from Columbia. That was over 1 1/2 years ago. Now my business taking photo's is starting to do really well. I feel at home here."

So I'll wrap up from here before heading to the bakery for a scrumptious cinnamon roll for traveling and some writing over a bowl of granola and yogart at Cafe y Amor.

Ciao...Larry

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb