Caye Caulker


Advertisement
Published: October 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Another free day in Caye Caulker. I spent a few hours in San Pedro, a neighbouring island 30 minutes away. The afternoon was spent drinking at a local bar. The local guys are like Cuban guys -- sleazy as hell. I thought the shaved head would work like it had in Mexico -- although now I'm thinking Mexican men are just more respectful -- but if anything it made the guys more outspoken. One particular man who took an interest looked like bad news with a huge scar down his belly. I managed to escape his advances and ignored him the rest of my stay. A friend of tour leader shared our bus today and she told me about how the Caye Caukler men take advantage of female tourists, getting them drunk or slipping drugs into their drinks and then sharing intimate details about them with the other local men so the women feel uncomfortable for the rest of their stay. I asked her about the man hitting on me and she said he was the worst of the local men and the scar was from his best friend stabbing him. Nice.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb