Seeing Half Moon Cay . . .


Advertisement
Published: May 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Half Moon Cay is a private cay in the Bahamas owned by Holland America Line (part of the Carnival Corporation). Last spring when I was on the Liberty, during one of my last cruises, we changed itineraries to go to Half Moon Cay. But because it’s a tender port and everything on land is run by crew from the ship, it was a hectic day and unless you were working crew, you couldn’t get off the ship. So I’d only ever seen Half Moon Cay from the ship looking ashore.


Today we were in port there.

My current schedule of activities was set by the director who I’ve replaced here. And this afternoon I was scheduled to run activities on the island for the teens. So I took the tender boat ashore with my bags fulls of various sport balls and sand castle building toys.
The island is really lovely. There is a huge stretch of beautiful beach right off the tenders. I could happily spend entire days just there!

Then there’s lots of other things set up: sports courts, dining areas, bars, performance stage, a few shops, etc.

I waited for teens to show but nobody did. The count is low and I imagine most of them were off with their families. So I sort of just sat and people watched. Walked around to explore a bit before heading back to the ship.

Not an especially exciting day, but something different and there’s a few nice photos.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb