Going Shopping!


Advertisement
Asia
July 10th 2017
Published: July 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I finally got to meet my tutor, or how we are calling them now conversation partner. She is so great; her English Name is Joe and her real name is 吴晓晗(wuxiaohan)she is so tall and super pretty. She and another tutor volunteer to take us around campus, so on the second day of class we got our school tour. The school is enormous, the biggest in China, with over 70,000 students. We visited the library, which is so much better than my school library and climb to the top of some stairs to the highest point of the school. Let me just tell you the view was amazing.

So enough about the school, let me tell you the most awesome thing we have done since getting here, other than going to class to learn Chinese, which I am enjoying greatly, we went shopping. So, my tutor told me that she was free and we could do whatever I wanted to do……well that was shopping. I of course told my classmates and that meant that everyone wanted to go as well. Oh and I had to tell my professor too, guess what… he wanted to go too. Final count we had 12 people going shopping, let me tell you guys shopping with a group of 12 people is very difficult.

We had to take the underground train, which was a new adventure because I have never done that before. Guys Texas public transportation has nothing on China’s transportation system. They had security, automatic ticket booths and escalators, it was super nice clean and easy to use. Still navigating 12 people was a hassle and we were also very popular. Several people wanted to take pictures with us or take pictures of us, yeah Chinese people like to take pictures of us without even asking for permission. We’re used to it now but it was super weird at first, now I know how celebrities feel ;-)

Even with good public transportation the market was still a 30-minute commute and boy did everyone else what to go there as well. The train was packed and unfortunately, I did not take pictures, sorry guys. Once we finally arrived the shops were not far at all. The entrance to the place was actually right there at the train station. Guys……. I am on a budget but that did not stop me from buying shoes. I bought two pairs and had to tell my mother about it. No matter the shoes were pretty and so cheap. I like shopping in China, good thing I have small feet because the biggest size is a 7.5(40). Some of my classmates were out of luck.



Ok ok I know this was not as much fun as my other post but shopping was so much fun for and I got to see things outside the school. Don’t worry my next post will be more fun because I am going to the Shaolin Temple.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb