Hoi An, Hue and onto Laos


Advertisement
Asia
October 6th 2006
Published: October 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ghosts of Tailor Made Suits PastGhosts of Tailor Made Suits PastGhosts of Tailor Made Suits Past

While I didn't bother with the getting clothes made stampede that coincided with our arrival it was a godsend to poor Sharon who still hadn't recovered her bags from those idiots at Air France.
Hi everybody!

Warren at the healm once again. You may remember me from such blogs as 1000 Things To Do with Stuff and Where Did I Leave My Dong? After I had parted from the missus, we made our way from Hoi An and entered Laos via Hue and across the border at Lao Bao. from there it was to Savanakhet on the Thai border. And just in the nick of time as it had pretty much rained for 48 hours straight and the flood waters of Central Vietnam were rising. I only heard about the crazy typhoon that hit Central Vietnam when I arrived back yesterday.

(Enter stage right) the languid (to the point of having to poke it with a stick to see if it was actually still alive) Laos. I had seen her before in the company of fellow intrepid explorers (Sharon and Kieran) but it had been 7 years and I wondered how and if she had changed. I am happy to report that not only is she still languid, she may be the laziest country anywhere. I was surprised to find that the Little Book of Calm is not required reading in most schools
FrangipaniFrangipaniFrangipani

My love affair with all things floral continues unabashed.
and monasteries and that although the locals were not reading it they were living the life promoted in that wonderful text!

The following has been said of French Indochina:

In Vietnam they grow the rice
In Cambodia they watch the rice grow
and in Laos they listen to the rice grow

We passes throuh the lovely Bolacen Plateau with its coffee plantations, waterfalls and rivers, Chapasak with the famous Wat Phu and then onto the 4000 Islands near the Cambodian Border, home of the Irrawaddy dolphin and a very chilled place in low season. We did some kayaking, rafting, waterfall hunting and shopping. Plenty of Beer Lao was tested and lots of Indian food along the way. Luckily the McArees didnt have a TV remote to fight over.






Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Hoi An Old TownHoi An Old Town
Hoi An Old Town

Sandrine, unaware that she is being stalked by a photographer lurking the other side of the famous Japanese Bridge.
Japanese Bridge Hoi AnJapanese Bridge Hoi An
Japanese Bridge Hoi An

Joyce (left) enjoys a quiet moment on the bridge.
Cafe on Thu Wheels, HueCafe on Thu Wheels, Hue
Cafe on Thu Wheels, Hue

We spent far too much time here. Our only excuse was the craic, the rain and the very cheap beer!
Rain rain go away, HueRain rain go away, Hue
Rain rain go away, Hue

To think that we complain about the Irish weather!
We've finally arrived in Laos.We've finally arrived in Laos.
We've finally arrived in Laos.

Here we are outside Pakse at a lovely waterfall. I'm beuggered if I can remember the name but it's in th elovely Bolaven Plateau.
We're in Laos!  Near Pakse to be exact.We're in Laos!  Near Pakse to be exact.
We're in Laos! Near Pakse to be exact.

This could be our desktop picture for a while! Thunder theft!
Honeymoon suite, near PakseHoneymoon suite, near Pakse
Honeymoon suite, near Pakse

According to tradition newlyweds climb a ladder to this room, the ladder is removed and the couple stay for 3 days (and nights). God knows what they get up to..
Coffee beans near Paksong, Bolaven Plateau, LaosCoffee beans near Paksong, Bolaven Plateau, Laos
Coffee beans near Paksong, Bolaven Plateau, Laos

Coffee in Laos is so good. I made sure to buy plenty of beans before leaving too.
Party time, Sekong, LaosParty time, Sekong, Laos
Party time, Sekong, Laos

This was a funny night. A crowd of Lao civil servants arrived and we ended up dancing to really dodgy Karaoke. Joyce tries to avoid the eyes of those wanting a Dubliners number...
Tuk-tuk body art, near Sekong, LaosTuk-tuk body art, near Sekong, Laos
Tuk-tuk body art, near Sekong, Laos

Waterfalls, mountains and pictures of 1970s favorite honest cop, Serpico!
Wat Phu, Near Chapasak,LaosWat Phu, Near Chapasak,Laos
Wat Phu, Near Chapasak,Laos

This old Hindu site retains a lovely sense of peace, located on the side of a hill and overlooking some small lakes.


19th November 2006

Saludos desde Mexico
Hi Warren and Sofie, I am with Edi right now and we are watching your fotos... they are really cool! Muy padres, like we say over here. I am just telling my friendly boss Beto (the owner of the 20th century video camara if you can remember...) that you are a great fotographer (much better than the one we have here at our club). I hope you still have the fotos you took in the Highlands. Congratulations for your marriage! (Just to let you know that Mexico has a divorce rate of 50 % ;-) I hope to see you soon (in Mexico or in Scotland)! I went back to my English classes but I have not been very consistent... but I understand a little bit more. I am still waiting for the twin sister to write and marry me. Yesterday we went to see Enrique deejaying but the event did not take place. So it was just a night with lots of beer, although we finally found a good rock band where I could practice my Mexican scream once again ;-) We will try to go to Scotland next year again. Saludos Josue P.S. And many greetings from Edi as well!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb