weds day 89


Advertisement
Asia
April 20th 2015
Published: April 20th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Deciding that for the next week or so that I would travel north up through Thailand my first stop would be Ayutthaya. So, saying goodbye to wan, ted and family and getting a taxi to the train station I was on my way. Having to fork out a huge 30p for a third class ticket for the hour and a half's journey I made it with no problems. 3rd class comes with not much padding on the seats and fans but great windows that open fully so you can lean right out of. The trains are all diesel engines as well so pretty noisy and not super fast, but a nice way to travel and see the country. Arriving early afternoon and walking the 100 metres down to the river - the town being completely surrounded by the river I paid a further 10p to get the taxi boat across. Walking for about 10 minutes in the intense heat and opting for a friendly tuktuk instead I made it to my hotel. Being given a handy map by the friendly owner and after unpacking my bag I headed out to see what there was to see and get my bearings. Walking for only about 10 minutes I made it to the first temple - wat phra mahathat with another temple being next door - wat ratburana. Not spending too long at either as evening was drawing in and having a full day tomorrow to sight see I retraced my steps back to the hotel but this time walking through a night market ( which had set up in time I had been sight seeing.) A little later I walked into the centre of Ayutthaya to try and find a pharmacy ( for some more mozzie repellent) and happened upon a sort of carnival festival - for this was the final night of songkran. Not wanting to get too involved I stayed near the edge and watched the craziness as it passed by. Resigning myself to probably not finding an open pharmacy I headed back to the hotel and relaxed for the evening.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.1378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb