Happy Little Buddha


Advertisement
Asia
August 24th 2006
Published: August 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Patong BeachPatong BeachPatong Beach

This is the view from a public beach taken about 4pm.
Happy Little Buddha

Hello all. We have survived abother day in Thailand. Each day seems like a little victory. Yesterday we walked around town for several hours and found the perfect place to stay. We are at the little Buddha guesthouse on Patong Beach. This beach is actually the tourist beach with lots of bars and nightlife and Aussies and Kiwis. It's nice to be around people who speak the same language. Communication is not as exhausting.

So here we are in the Amsterdam of Asia. I think there is a little red light district about a mile away from our guesthouse, so if I decide I ever decide that I don't like teaching, there is always money to be made at the pole.

Yesterday we broke down and went to KFC for dinner. I'm pretty sure that Lisa will agree with me on this point- no more fast food for us. It was not what we were used to. I got the spicy chicken sandwich figuring it would be pretty safe- just deepfry the frozen patty, right. Not exactly. It was like they took all the fat and meet off a thigh bone, mushed it together and
Beach FootballBeach FootballBeach Football

A group of Thai nationals playing football (soccer) on the beach
soaked it in curry and then fried it. The first bite was interesting, the second was nauseating. So I drank my warm Pepsi and wished I had fried rice. And clean ice.

At our new home we have free wireless internet. Which seems so wired. I'm sitting here in an air conditioned patio with a laptop and there is a woman walking by with a bamboo pole across her shoulders with baskets on either end filled with thatch. It seems odd to see such a strong division of technology and living.

I'll send pictures soon. I'm just too lazy to go up the 9 flights of stairs to my room to get my camera to upload pics. I'll do it tonight and send some.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Patong ParasailingPatong Parasailing
Patong Parasailing

This is a shot of a parasailor. They take off by runing fast along the beach- then a worker runs and hops into the parachute cords and stands on your sholders to help guide.
KFC ExperienceKFC Experience
KFC Experience

I love KFC, but it doesn't translate to Thai KFC. This is Lisa and her sad face after our meal.


24th August 2006

Did somebody say Red Light???
Damn, ya'll are brave girls. I don't even go to KFC here in America. If they have Long John Silver's over there pleeeeease don't go there, that would be deadly for sure.
24th August 2006

Oh! sounds just like the thailand i know! yeah, ya gotta watch out for the KFC's! It appears like a little piece of home, but really it can be a bit of sketchy madness! i always went for the tiny spicy wings there, that way I KNEW that at least i was eating chicken!! Remeber no consumption of food in the market, and post some pics of the beach! Kap kun kaa!

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb