Death Cab For Caroline


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
August 23rd 2006
Published: August 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Phuket TownPhuket TownPhuket Town

Shot from hotel window
In America Death Cab is good music (for those who don't know them, you should). In Thailand it is the mode of transportation that actually transports blond Americans to be traded in the sex slave industry. It was also how I got from the airport to my hotel. I actually thought I was going to die. Instead I just got carsick and I thought that Lisa and I would be Natilie Hollowayed.

But we lived, sorry mom, that this is my first entry. But everythis else has been fine. Lisa and I are on our way to the beach to play outside and relax. Mai tias need to be condumed. Tomorrow we find a place to live. And somewhere near the bus stop as to avoid taking unmarked cabs.

We walked around downtown Pkuket last night and were exhausted by 9pm (9am Texas time) so we went back to our hotel and passed out. This morning we got up at 6:30 and went to find coffee. Evidently nothing opens until 11am here. Good for me once I get used to the time difference.

Now we are off to the beach. Once I find a wi-fi place I'll add
Town CircleTown CircleTown Circle

A circle in town. These roads are hard to cross because of the massive number of mopeds going in circles.
pics. I'm so glad to have a laptop!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Mini-templeMini-temple
Mini-temple

A mini Buddah santuary in the center of town.
Woman WalkingWoman Walking
Woman Walking

People walk up and down the street selling homemade goods. She was selling an assortment of fried meats.


23rd August 2006

Yikes
I agree, the cab was not the best but the beach will hopefully bring us some peace from the Nightmare Machine.
23rd August 2006

Geez
Hey Caroline! Just read your entry, geez! Death Cab? We (the US) just extradited a freak from Thailand, so be careful and watch each others back! Good looking blonde girl such as yourself will mostly like stand out! Okay, that was my one safety/security advice. Easy on the Mai Tias....Oh yea, that's right you drink lots of coffee. Can't wait to see pics! Laters
23rd August 2006

Crazy cab
Hey Monkey! I'm so glad to hear that you survived the death cab ride! He was probably just trying to give ya'll a thrill ride...or kill you, either one. I can't wait to see pictures from your first day! Drink a mai tai for me...I'm off to work.
23rd August 2006

!!!!
I wouldn't worry too much, apparently all the perverts are only interested in children. Although if you see a guy that looks like David Byrne with his polo shirt buttoned all the way up walking out of a sexual reassignment clinic, I suggest you avoid him.
23rd August 2006

Watch out for guys named Jordan
Sure it sounds like a hot name, right up until they flash a little smile, buy you a margarita that tastes remarkably good, and then drag you off to some desserted beach to "go for a walk." Be safe kiddos, I just dont know what I would do if anything happened to my favorite ladies!! By the way, now that I am not available for you, one of you needs to assume the role of the camp counselor at all times (you never know when you may need a safety pin or a roll of tums), just dont set that backpack down for a minute :) Love you both and miss you already! Have so much fun!
24th August 2006

I repeat my question. Do you really know any actual cases of blond Americans being traded as sex slaves in Thailand? This blog is a public place. So, prove that your accusation is true.
25th August 2006

Sarcasm doesn't translate in print
I'm not one to cause controversy, especially an international incident. I'm a very sarcastic person with a dry sense of humor. I don't know you and you don't know me, so I can see where you were lost with the sarcasm. No, I was not literally saying that I thought I was going to be sold into sex slave industry. I was simply alarmed when the unmarked Taxi (which I know I should not have stepped into) drove past the hotel repeatedly and locked the car doors. I was not afraid of being kidnapped in any way. It was simply an alarming situation to put myself in while in a foreign country and have heard about kidnappings. I'm sure the gentlemen in the car are very respectable members of the community.
25th August 2006

By the way KP1958
You are correct, this is a public domain and last I heard the internet is still a place where I can express opinion and freedom of speech. I'm happy to answer a question, but you should know better than to assume that one person's opinion of a situation as law. If you have concerns about the safety and customs of a country you need to contact either the consulate or embassy of your respected country for travel advisories before you travel to a country you are not familiar with.

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb