Remembering the gear...Dawukou


Advertisement
Asia
May 11th 2012
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Tinkerbell!Tinkerbell!Tinkerbell!

Received quite the workout being carried around places such as these!
A reliable Travel Partner

A wise man once said that friends should work together. This is because if one fall the other can pick him/her up. While I have been given the opportunity to travel over the past few years my most consistent travel partner has been Tinkerbelle.

No, I am not talking about the fairy which is a trademark of the Disney cooperation, but my back pack. My traveling partner is covered in the colors of green, blue and black, which further sets my Tinkerbelle apart from the animated version. She comes equipped with one large component which can expand or shrink with the touch of a button. This has come in handy when packing for a month or less. Externally, she is built for versatility. The front has two smaller pouches which come in great for storing writing utensils or such. To the right and left there are small net compartments which are great for carrying bottled water or peanut butter. At the top of Tinkerbelle is another pouch which is excellent for carrying vital documents like my passport or plan tickets. The zipper for this compartment is near my head, so if some one wants to rob me, they’ll have a hard time doing it! When carrying a small load or packed to the maximum, Tinkerbelle has proven her worth. To date she has been in Germany, Russia and now China.

In 2004 the opportunity to study abroad at Phillips University in Marburg, Germany (which is to the north of Frankfurt in the state of Hesse) was given to me. Tinkerbelle proved a worthy travel companion when I made a weekend trip to Zweibrucken, where I lived, and Bitburg, where I was born. 1 Learning the hard way that German Trains, except for overnighters, stop at 1 A.M, Tinkerbelle kept me company as I did an overnight in a train station. 2 To prevent my traveling partner’s abduction I used the straps and we were attached at the ankle. Also, she was useful when going grocery shopping because German grocery stores do not provide bags for shoppers.

The next trip where Tinkerbelle proved her worth was when I went to Russia in the summer of 2005. With the good advice of Rick Steve, the author of Europe through the Back Door, and Army training I packed everything I needed in her. While I can appreciate her, she has a habit of confusing others. When flying to Moscow from St. Petersburg she was considered a carry on. When going from Moscow to America, however, she was considered oversized. Laugh…now!

Right now you may be thinking, “Where is Tinkerbelle now?” Good question. While she can carry enough clothing for a month, ten months is a bit much even for her. She is drying off right now. This past Monday she carried my books while I walked to and from my school when it was raining hard. Tinkerbelle, however, kept my books dry! I plan to use Tinkerbelle for a long time, in good weather and bad. I have heard from my fellow teachers that the sandstorms in April can be harsh here in Dawukou. I think that Tinkerbelle will be up to the challenge.

Zaijian!

1. Yes, I was born in Bitburg, Germany. I have two witnesses- my mom and dad.
2. No, I do not recommend staying at train stations, even small ones nearby Zweibrucken.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb