Remembering the second look...Dawukou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Ningxia
May 11th 2012
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

A closer lookA closer lookA closer look

When a view just is not enough!
Worth a closer look

I imagine that in the Midwest of the United States the weather is becoming rather cold and a little wet from snow. Have you found yourself wearing your winter coat when you venture outside for any length of time? Do you wish you were in another world filled with warm weather and no snow? Well, read on and let your imagination take over.

Apart from the evergreens I imagine that most of the leaves have fallen off the trees and in my old yard the black walnuts are also waiting to be raked. A while back I told you about the view from my balcony. During the day one of the images catches my view. In this park, which dominates the view during the day a garden of yellow marigolds catch my view. I must have a closer look.

Instead of taking this park for granted I’ve been venturing around and through it. At eleven in the morning the temperature is neither hot nor cold, it is just right. Wearing a jacket is optional!

As I leave my apartment building the warm air meets my clothing and skin like a blanket at night covers me. The sunlight illuminates my view and brings out the brightness of the colors around me. I have not even step foot in the park yet as I enjoy his creation.

Walking through the maze of apartment buildings I stroll towards the back gate which is open at this time. A multitude of choices await my decision as I leave my gated community. Shall I go to the right or left and merely venture around this park? Perhaps I will meander through the park and hide myself in between the trees. If the latter selection is chosen then I must decide to walk along the small and narrow paths or the wide and smooth paths.

If I choose to walk around the park, then a closer look I receive of the buildings that surround it. A closer look reveals buildings that are big and small, with some new and others old. In these buildings the Chinese people, whom I have come to admire and respect, are simply living their lives. They are working, studying or a variety of other things. To this point in my life the Chinese are perhaps the most humble, kind and welcoming people.

While walking on the outside of the park there are many types of trees. And like the terra cotta warriors, no two of them look exactly alike. The leaves of some look as if they are on fire as winter starts to encroach. Other trees are newly planted and will undoubtedly bloom in the spring. Trees, such as the Evergreens, keep their deep and smooth colors. Willows also fill the park and if one walks through their drooping leaves it tickles the bare arms.

When the choice is made to walk through the park then it seems I’ve left planet earth and entered a mysterious new world. Walking down the wide path it seems I am venturing towards a magnificent castle.

As I come closer to the yellow marigolds it has seemed like finding gold at the end of the rainbow. This section of the broad path is intersected by another path which leads either to the left or right.

While I like the orderly wide and smooth path, the lure of the small and narrow also calls. These smaller ones offer more choices to be made and outcomes to be determined.

While the sun is still high and the air warm the lure of this park is difficult to resist. Now, however, it is time to come back to planet Earth.

Zaijian.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb