DARWIN


Advertisement
Asia
January 1st 2012
Published: February 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

New Year’s Day was into Darwin at 9.00 a.m. As I used to live there in 1974, thought I’d head to Smith Street (downtown), reacquaint myself with my surroundings and then go walkabout from there. Well, I got into town and I didn’t recognize a thing – was REALLY surprised.

Darwin was also the hottest place out of all the places we went to – and absolutely sweltering. It was also a really boring town, not helped by everything being closed for New Year’s Day.

There was nothing there apart from drunken Aborigines propping up a tree in the middle of town and I honestly wonder how I spent a couple of years there. Darwin was that boring I took exactly one photo. It does have a wave pool which I’d intended going to, but there is no shelter or shade whatsoever and the water is warm, so I didn’t bother walking in the heat to get there and was glad to get back onto the ship and the air conditioning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb