Krabi & Bangkok


Advertisement
Asia
April 6th 2011
Published: May 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We spent the day around Krabi doing absolutely nothing really. We sat in Good Dream using their internet, having a plate of bacon ( their bacon is the best bacon we've found so far in Thailand. Nice and crispy) and having a drink. We sat there for about 3 hours, then headed to Tesco to see if there were any movies on. Unfortunately nothing started till 3:00, and we had to be back at Yes I can because the airport shuttle was picking us up at 4:30. So we walked around Tesco, had some dairy queen then headed back. The airport wasn't that big. There was a flight that got delayed 12 hours from Scandanavia. BRUTAL!!! The flight to Bangkok arrived 20 minutes early. We took a taxi to Lamphu Guesthouse, luckily we had reservations as it was full as always. We put our stuff in our room then went to grab a bite to eat. A lady at the table beside us was complaining to the waiter that yesterday they ordered this, this and that and she got charged x amount of baht, when it should've only costed y amount of baht. We kind of thought she was being ridiculous complaining the next day. I decided to add up what our bill should cost just for the heck of it. Food came, we ate, then we asked for the bill. We knew the bill should be around 165 baht. He came and said 240 baht!!! AND THIS IS WHY WE HATE BANGKOK!!!!!!! Everyone rips you off!!!!!!!! So I said No, there is no way its 240 baht. He kind of scowled then wrote down the amounts on his pad beside what we ordered and it added up to 185 baht. I forgot to include the 20 baht steamed rice when I added it up earlier. Seriously though, it makes us wonder how many times we've been ripped off by a couple dollars. We've eaten at this very same place quite a few times before. We don't normally add up what we order, we just assume that the waiter is being honest. It sucks because it makes us generalize and say that everyone rips off the tourists... when really not EVERYONE does, but these effing people give every other person a bad name, and they wonder why we question and second guess every price they give us!

I've decided that I am going to start a thing called "Tristans Quote of the Day". Every day he says at least one thing normally that makes me 'die' laughing. It's normally related to SE Asia, so it may not make sense to some of you.. but I'll do my best to explain.

Last nights quote is, "I can't fall asleep until I hear the fire crackers" - - - We swear, almost every night while we are just about to fall asleep, or trying to fall asleep fire crackers go off. BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG. We normally laugh, and say " are you effing kidding?"

Bangkok

Ohh Bangkok, we don't miss you. We woke up this morning and had some breakfast then decided to go to the Grand Palace. You can't go to Bangkok and not see the Grand Palace. In order to go in you have to have your shoulders covered and down to your knees covered, no shorts. We walked down Koh San Road and found me some caprie pants as all my long stuff was packed and we didn't want to get it out. Plus, these pants will be good everywhere else we go as they are really light. I am sure I'll wear them lots on the motorcycle in Vietnam. Not hot, but enough so my legs don't sunburn! We went back to Lamphu and checked out. They gave us a map so we could walk to the Grand Palace. We took Tristans backpack to the 'Backpacker place'. Not sure of the actual name, we just know the place as backpacker place. I remembered it from when Dad and I, and Uncle Warren were in Thailand. Its way cheaper then other places for intenet, tours and advice. I left my bag there when we went South. We picked it up at the same time and it cost us 100 baht. Next we headed to the temple. We thought of getting a tuk tuk as it was really hot out and we were dripping with sweat ( when I say this, I mean we were literally DRIPPING with sweat) but they all wanted to rip us off. We knew it was only a 15 min walk, maybe 5-8 minute drive which should cost maybe 20 baht, but of course everyone wanted to charge us 100, or tell us it was closed to tourists in hopes to take us to other places where they get tips from. So we continued on our way and walked on our own. We got told another 2 times it was closed in the morning to tourists as it is a Thai holiday but we wanted to see for ourselves. Upon our walk these ladies surrounded by pigeons started throwing bags of corn into our hands. They said it was a ritual for Thai new year and it brings good luck, they also told us it was free. Why we listened I don't know. We took the corn and through it in the air and the pigeons flocked. The lady took a picture for us too. Then they demanded 150 baht. I said no no no, you said free and walked away. They surrounded Tristan yelling "You pay 150 baht". He tried to get away but couldn't. We gave them 100 baht only and stormed away very mad. Another prime example of tourists getting RIPPED OFF!!! Anyway, we got to the Palace and surprise surprise it was OPEN, to TOURISTS! We walked in and it cost 350 baht a person, which is like $11.50. I've been there before, so I gave Tris the choice of going in, but he said he didn't want to spend that kind of money. The Palace really looks like the majority of the temples that we see for free. Only difference is the King of Thailand has lived there. We jumped into a cab and went to MBK Mall to kill sometime before we had to get to the train. We went and saw Gnomeo and Juliet in 3D. It was pretty funny. The theaters here are awesome. You have the choice of raising the arm rests, and the chairs are really cushiony. They also sell really yummy cheese popcorn. I got a hot dog. They don't serve their hot dogs on buns here. It was cut up and put in a bag. I squirted some ketchup in it and ate it with a stick (like a long toothpick). After the movie we walked a bit. I wanted to find a waterproof something to put my pump in for SongKran Festival. I ended up finding a bag at a camera store for $7.00. A little more then what we wanted to spend, but better off spending that and saving my pump, then having another one break. We walked around some more then decided to go bowling. I kicked Tristans butt!! I won 3 our of 5! The more beers we had the better I got it seemed, haha. After bowling we went to Pizza hut for some dinner then headed back to Koh San Road to pick up our bags. We went through a few taxi's until we gave up. No one wanted to use their meter as 'traffic jam'. We knew it only cost 80 baht to get to Koh San.. but we ended up paying a tuk tuk 100 baht. Then when he dropped us off we paid with a 500 because its all we had, he gave us change, and then asked if we'd pay him 20 baht more. I said "I dont think so" and walked away. We grabbed our bags from the backpacker place then went out to find a taxi to take us to the train station. Again we checked with probably 6 different cabs till we found one that would actually use their meter. Everyone wanted 150 baht. When we arrived at the train station the taxi meter said 79 baht. We gave the taxi driver 100 baht and let him keep the change. We'd rather give the extra money to an honest driver than to someone that originally trys to rip us off. We are now on the train to Chiang Mai. It has a plug in so we can watch TV and not worry about it dying! Woo hoo! We are in the same cubicle thingy as a Thai family. They have 2 sons. One is about 6 years old and reminds me of my cousin Brandon, and the other is 2 years. He's being a little ornery as he's tired. We put on Kung Fu Panda and the older brother really liked it. The dad offered Tris some beer, but they couldn't really communicate with each other. Anyway its time to lay down and watch some TV. We arrive in Chiang Mai in the morning!! We are both glad to be able to say, GOODBYE BANGKOK, WE WON'T MISS YOU!!!

In Thailand they use a lot of glass ketchup bottles. I don't know why I remember this, but one memory I have of Grampa Roy (Dad's Dad) is him showing us at a restaurant an easy way to get ketchup out of a glass bottle. You take the bottle and bang it on two of your fingers.... I've tried to do it, but I still have trouble getting the ketchup out of the bottles. But for those few minutes that I'm trying, it makes me think of Grampa.






Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb