Camel Safari


Advertisement
Asia
November 4th 2010
Published: November 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The safari was definitely my best experience so far. Not so much for the camel ride, which is actually quite uncomfortable and even painful, it's the fact that you're in a quiet place surrounded only by nature and that you fall asleep under the stars and wake up to see the sunrise. We were also lucky enough to have a guide who spoke reasonably good English so I was able to find out a lot about local traditions and customs. Some of the things he said I did not want to hear. Like the fact that girls get married off at 18 to a person chosen by their parents - which incidentally pay a lot of money for it - and that once married they are not allowed to work. But this is their culture and I have to respect it, no matter how different it is from mine.

We came back mid-afternoon on the second day, met a couchsurfer who took us to see a temple with an amazing view of the city and then I was considering boarding the night train to my next destination. But the desire to have a shower was too strong, so I checked in the same guesthouse where I was before, and just chilled there for the rest of the night. I slept like a baby.

Today I got my train ticket and I'm just hanging around town taking pictures, eating fruit, checking the internet and hopefully tomorrow morning I'll be in Jaisalmer. I have good feelings about that place. Let's hope I'm right.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb