Day 2 Samui


Advertisement
Asia
September 30th 2010
Published: September 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Was feeling a little under the weather last night so crashed early after postponing my day trip till tomorrow. So stories will have to wait.

I did tour the village last night, it is much classier than the last one, the restraunts are amazing, first of all theyare large, very clean, they have all the fresh fish in cooler counters between the restraunt and the street so as you walk in or later you pick whihc little fish you are going to have. I saw more chefs hats last night than you would see in Canada in a year!

I don't know if have talked to you about ice, it is a big thing here and in Phuket. They deliver it in opn trucks usually, cubed in bags and crushed for these restaraunt coolers right out of the truck with a shovel. Today was the best though, I was having lunch at a very greasy Thai restraunts with hundred flies at my table along and two dogs sniffing for left overs under my feet! The ice truck stops and this was one of the smallest ones I have seen probably a 3/4 ton. They did not have one person on the truck or they had 8 men.

The town is one long street with a couple of small ones off it, they say there is lots of life, I guess I have to stay up later to see it becasue around six last night it looked deserted! Phuket closed at 4 am I think here it is much earlier

Another interesting thing about the town was the airport, it is completely open, the terminalbuilding that is. It is much like a souther resorts with roofs over certain areas, I tried to get a picture as we landed but the quality is ver poor.

The each was absolutely wonderful this am till the rain and thunder moved in.


That is it will try some pictures again.

I almost forgot the resorts here are beach front and most are to die for, unfortunately on my budget I am in a little hotel on a side street fairly far from downtown!!

Barry


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

IslandsIslands
Islands

From the plane, the window was kind of foggy!
ElephantsElephants
Elephants

Did I tell you they like their elephants


Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb